Drive to Survive Recap - August 21st

Posted by D.S. 8/24/2020 8:54:03 AM


Larry King started on the pole for the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As King held onto the lead, Paul Schuh and Ken Sandberg battled for second. As they raced for second, they reeled in the leader King. It was a three car battle for the lead with only a handful of laps remaining. As the laps wound down, the contact among the leaders intensified. When the checkered flag waved, Ken Sandberg came out victorious ahead of Paul Schuh. Alex Thompson finished third ahead of Stan Thompson while Braydee Hanson rounded out the top five. Larry King, who led much of the race, settled for seventh. 


Menoken’s Josh Roehich led the field to the green flag in the Hobby Stock feature. Outside pole sitter, Dylan Sandberg quickly grabbed the lead but had his hands full with defending track champion A.J. Davenport and John Gartner Jr. The three drivers raced hard for the lead which resulted in some occasional contact. Sandberg had mechanical problems early, handing the lead over to Davenport before Gartner slipped by on lap five. Gartner then had to fend off Mike Appert. They battled hard for the win but John Gartner Jr held on to win his second feature of the season. Mike Appert had to settle for second ahead of A.J. Davenport. Josh Roehrich finished fourth while points leader, Chris Welk Jr, crossed the finish line in fifth. 


Pole sitter, Chase Schlafmann led early in the INEX Legends feature. His lead was short lived as Donavin Wiest, who started 10th, quickly stormed his way to the front and took the lead on lap three. Behind Wiest, it was a thrilling battle for second between Tommie Quenzer and Alex Kukowski. They raced side by side for many laps, even flip flopping position near the end of the race. However, when the checkered flag waved, Alex Kukowski made a last lap pass to finish second ahead of Tommie Quenzer. Austin Wiest finished fourth ahead of fifth place Brandon Anderson while Donavin Wiest cruised to win his fifth feature victory of the season.


After winning four straight feature victories at Dacotah Speedway, a bounty was placed on points leader Hunter Domagala. Unfortunately, trouble struck early for Hunter as he spun on his own early in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Cautions came early and often in the feature, allowing Hunter to move his way up through the field. Meanwhile, his father, Tracy Domagala led the field to the restarts. Drivers fought hard for the bottom line around the race track, allowing Tracy Domagala to pull away each time. Second place driver, Kyle Zittleman had his hands full with a speedy Kyle Anderson. Late in the race, Zittleman started to fade, losing valuable positions to Anderson, Kelly Hoerner, Shawn Volk and Hunter Domagala. After running near the front all night, Kyle Zittleman had to settle for sixth place. Hunter Domagala made a last lap pass to finish fourth ahead of Shawn Volk. Kelly Hoerner finished a season best of third place behind second place Kyle Anderson while Tracy Domagala dominated the race to snap Hunter Domagala’s winning streak and collect the bounty. 


Bismarck’s Quentin Kinzley led from the pole in the IMCA Modified feature. Kinzley pulled away quickly at the start of the race. Marcus Tomlinson, who started sixth, passed second place Travis Tooley on lap three and started to reel in Kinzley. Tooley faded through the field, losing positions to Jeremy Keller, Shawn Strand, Marlyn Seidler and Jason Wolla. Finding speed along the top of the track, Strand caught and passed Keller for third place. However, Keller would shift his line and find speed along the bottom, retaking third late in the race. Back up front, Tomlinson was all over Kinzley’s rear bumper for the win. With three laps remaining, Tomlinson dove low under Kinzley and cleared the position. Marcus Tomlinson led the final three laps to win the feature victory, his first of the season at Dacotah Speedway over Quentin Kinzley. Jeremy Keller finished third ahead of Shawn Strand. Jason Wolla made a last race pass to finish fifth ahead of Marlyn Seidler. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive