Season Opener - Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 5/1/2021 10:55:03 AM
(Photo courtesy of Layn Mudder of LPT Images.)

Dacotah Speedway kicked off it’s racing season with our Season Opener on Friday, April 30th. Race fans and drivers could not have asked for better weather as it was a beautiful Friday evening in April for racing. Over 110 race cars from all over the Midwest checked in to officially kick off dirt track racing in North Dakota. 


Alex Thompson and Ken Sandberg battled for the lead in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. They raced side by side until Sandberg grabbed the lead on lap 1. The race was suddenly halted on lap two when third place Levi Ensz rolled his car in corner four. Ensz was thankfully okay but his night was officially over. On the restart, Sandberg pulled away while Stan Thompson and Alex Thompson raced hard for second. When the checkered flag waved, Stan held off Alex at the finish line. Shad Pederson finished fourth while Tom Dworshak rounded out the top five. Ken Sandberg led all eight laps to cruise to victory lane. 


Bismarck’s Bill Hultberg led the field to the green flag in the Hobby Stock feature. As Hultberg distanced himself from the field, Daniel Kaseman, Chris Welk and Curt Michaelsohn battled for second. Welk shuffled into the second position as Kaseman fell to fourth. Kaseman had his hands full with a speedy Jeremy Engelhardt. With five laps to go, Michaelsohn passed Welk for second leaving Welk to fall into the clutches of Engelhardt. As the checkered flag waved, Jeremy Engelhardt made a last lap pass for third. Chris Welk settled for fourth ahead of fifth place Daniel Kaseman. Curt Michaelsohn finished second behind feature winner, Bill Hultberg, who led all 15 laps. 


Pole sitter Casey Martin led the first lap in the INEX Legends feature. It was a three car battle for the lead between Casey Martin, Preston Martin and Donavin Wiest. A lap 7 caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Drew Papke slipped by to take the lead with nine laps to go. Preston Martin and Wiest were all over Papke’s bumper. They sliced and diced as they battled for the lead. Preston Martin briefly led with four laps to go before Wiest slipped by with three laps to go. But using the highline around the track, Papke retook the lead with two laps to go. Drew Papke held off Donavin Wiest to win the Season Opener. Preston Martin edged Alex Kukowski for fourth while Dauntae Martin finished fifth. 


Defending track champion, Hunter Domagala started on the pole in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Second place Zach Frederick was all over his rear bumper before an early caution reset the field. On the restart, Domagala and Frederick made contact resulting in Domagala spinning in the front of the field. Domagala went to the pits and Zach Frederick was sent tail end which handed the lead over to Todd Carter. While Carter pulled away on the restart, it was a three car battle for second between Matt Dosch, Tanner Dosch and Kyle Anderson. Anderson shuffled into second and started closing in on Carter. With a handful of laps remaining, Anderson dove low under Carter for the win. Todd Carter held off Kyle Anderson to win the feature. Matt Dosch finished third while Tanner Dosch finished fourth. Zach Frederick, who was sent tail early in the feature, raced through the field to finish fifth. 


After a complete restart, pole sitter Mark Dahl and Quentin Kinzley battled for the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Kinzley grabbed the lead before an early caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Kinzley pulled away while Mark Dahl, Marlyn Seidler and Shawn Shawn raced hard for second. Dahl got loose off turn four which resulted in Dahl turning into Seidler and sent him rolling down the frontstretch. Thankfully Seidler was ok but his night was cut short. On the restart, Kinzley and Strand made contact racing for the lead. The contact broke Strand’s right front tie-rod which drew a caution. On the final restart of the night, Jeremy Keller dove low under Kinzley. They raced side by side until Keller grabbed the lead with two laps to go. Jeremy Keller led the final two laps to win the feature over Quentin Kinzley. Jason Wolla, who started 16th, finished third. Matt Aukland finished fourth while Spencer Wilson rounded out the top five. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive