Dacotah Speedway June 11th Recap

Posted by D.S. 6/13/2021 7:34:33 PM


Lane Doll and Tanner Hofer led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Alex Thompson grabbed the lead early and battled to hold off Ken Sandberg for the lead. Alex Thompson got off the backstretch which allowed Ken Sandberg to slip by. Sandberg started to pull away as Stan Thompson picked off Doll for fourth and a lap later, passed Hofer for third. A few laps later, Stan Thompson over drove turn two, dropping to the fifth position where he would finish. Tyler Butler made a late race run to the front to finish fourth behind third place Tanner Hofer. Alex Thompson finished a distant second behind feature winner, Ken Sandberg, who led all 10 laps to win the feature event. 

** Tyler Butler was disqualified after the conclusion of the race for failing to tech after the conclusion of the feature event. 


Cautions came early and often in the Hobby Stock feature. Trevor Sahr and Seth Howe-Kellar raced door to door while Derrick Appert lurked in third. Using the restarts to his advantage, Appert took the lead on lap four. On the restarts, Appert had his hands full with a speedy Jeremy Engelhardt. Unfortunately, the Hobby Stocks exceeded their time limit and officials cut the race short by six laps. Derrick Appert was declared the feature winner over Jeremy Engelhardt. Wishek’s Daniel Kaseman finished while Seth Howe-Kellar finished a season best of fourth place. Josh Roehrich, who started 10th, rounded out the top five. 


After a complete restart in the INEX Legends feature, Casey Martin took the lead when the green flag waved. Casey Martin got loose in front of the leaders, allowing Dauntae Martin, Ivan Sailer, Donavin Wiest and Preston Martin to slip by. Hugging the guardrail around Dacotah Speedway, Wiest slipped by Dauntae Martin to take the lead on lap four. A caution with seven laps to go regrouped the field and on the restart, Austin Wiest passed Dauntae Martin for second place. Dauntae Martin then had his hands full with Drew Papke and Nate Keena. Papke shuffled into third place late in the race. On the final lap, coming off turn four, it was a three wide battle for fourth place between Dauntae Martin, Nate Keena and Preston Martin. As they crossed the finish line, Dauntae Martin narrowly edged Preston Martin and Nate Keena for fourth place. Drew Papke finished third behind second place Austin Wiest as Donavin Wiest picked up his second feature victory of the season. 


Outside pole sitter, John Feist, grabbed the lead from pole sitter Jason Meidinger in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Feist had his hands full with Hunter Domagala and Jason Berg has they battled for the lead early in the race. Berg shuffled into the lead as Domagala, Feist and Zach Frederick raced three wide for second. Frederick slipped into the second position and challenged Berg for the lead. They raced door to door for several laps until Frederick took the lead on lap seven. A series of late race cautions regrouped the field on the final restart of the race, Domagala struggled to get around Frederick for the win. When the checkered flag waved, Zach Frederick held off Hunter Domagala for the win. Nathan Messmer finished third while Jason Berg edged Jeremy Engelhardt by inches for fourth place at the finish line. 


In the final feature race of the night, Tony Marsh started on the pole. When the green flag waved, Jeremy Keller who started eighth, flew by on the outside and took the lead on lap one. Quentin Kinzley and Marcus Tomlinson battled for second place as Keller started pulling away. Kinzley cleared Tomlinson for second as Mark Dahl started reeling Tomlinson for third. It soon became a three car battle for fourth between Tomlinson, Drew Christianson and Marlyn Seidler. Seidler split the middle and took the fourth position. Near the end of the race, Keller started catching lapped traffic but Kinzley struggled to reel in the leader. Jeremy Keller led all 25 laps and won by six seconds over second place Quentin Kinzley. Mark Dahl finished third while Marlyn Seidler crossed the finish line for fourth. Shawn Strand rounded out the top five. 

The Mandan Dirt Series returns next Friday, June 18th presented by Aarons Sales and Lease, RJR Maintenance & Management, MOJO 1075 & BIG RIG 1059.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting racing action LIVE on www.dacotahspeedway.tv!

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive