Dacotah Speedway Recap - June 10

Posted by Becca Pelkey 6/12/2022 9:37:57 PM
John Schneider visited the Dacotah Speedway for the first time to the race fans delight. Stands were packed to see him sing the National Anthem, do some hot laps in his own IMCA Sport Mod and sign autographs. 


Nick Hoffman led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Contact ran rampant that first lap that resulted with the defending track champion getting assisted back to the pits. On the compete restart, former track champion Ken Sandberg and Paul Schuh battled for the lead. Sandberg got tight out of corner four, forcing Schuh off the track. As Sandberg pulled away from the field, Alex Thompson chased down second place Nick Hoffman. With only a handful of laps remaining, Thompson took the second position. Ken Sandberg led all 12 laps to win his second feature victory of the season. Alex Thompson finished third ahead of Nick Hoffman. Paul Schuh finished four while Couy Snyder made a last lap pass to finish fifth.


Young Ryker Vetter started on the pole for the Hobby Stock feature. The young 15 year old lead from the pole before he got loose out of turn four, allowing second place John Gartner Jr to slip by. While racing hard for the lead, Vetter had a small piece of debris fall from his car, bringing out a caution. On the restart, Mother Nature decided we needed more help with track prepped and halted the race. Drivers packed the track back in and we went back racing with seven laps to go. On the restart, Gartner and Derrick Appert made contact racing for the lead. Appert cut a tire and ended his evening early. Back up front, Josh Roehrich was reeling in Gartner Jr. With only three laps to go, Roehrich was all over Gartner’s bumper. Coming to the checkered flag, Josh Roehrich threw a hail mary pass for the win and spun out in corner four. Crossing the finish line first was John Gartner Jr for the first time in two years. Bill Hultberg avoided the spinning car of Josh Roehrich to finish second. Terry Davenport finished third ahead of Evan Graff and Nathan Mundahl.


Pole sitter, Kelly Hoerner led early in the INEX Legends feature. Hoerner’s lead was short lived as Dauntae Martin quickly grabbed the lead on lap two. Cautions came early and often in the feature event before the drivers settled down and found a rhythm. On the final restart of the night, it was a three car battle for the lead between Dauntae Martin, Preston Martin and Donavin Wiest. As they raced hard for the lead, it allowed Drew Papke to catch them and make it a four car battle. With eight laps to go, Preston Martin slipped into the lead and pulled away. Third place Wiest had his hands full with a young Dayton Olheiser and Nate Keena. However, when the checkered flag waved, Donavin Wiest held on to finish third ahead of Dayton Olheiser and Nate Keena. Drew Papke finished a distant second while Preston Martin cruised on to his second career Dacotah Speedway victory. 


Jason Berg and Tracy Domagala battled for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. They raced side by side allowing Geoff Hellman to make it a three car battle. They raced three wide until Hellman shuffled into the lead. Kasey Ussatis, who started ninth, found speed along the highside and quickly cracked the top five. A mid-race caution allowed Ussatis to pass Domagala on the restart and challenge Hellman for the lead. While diving low under Hellman going for the lead, they made the slightest contact, sending Ussatis spinning in corners three and four. Ussatis clipped another car resulting in the car slowly rolling on its side. Unfortunately, this ended Ussatis’s night early but on the restart, Hellman pulled away. Geoff Hellman picked up his first victory at Dacotah Speedway since 2018. Tracy Domagala held off his son, Hunter, for second. Matt Dosch finished fourth ahead of points leader Zach Frederick. 


Mark Dahl, started on the pole for the final race of the evening, the IMCA Modified feature. Dahl had his hands full with a speedy Scott Gartner as Gartner hung with racing veteran. Dahl, pushing the limits on the high side, blew it off the corner, handing the lead over to Gartner. A mid-race caution regrouped the field and on the restart but on the restart, Gartner pulled away from the field. Also pushing the limits, Gartner got too high off corner four, allowing Jeremy Keller to slip by. As the laps wound down, Gartner slipped into the clutches of Quentin Kinzley, Spencer Wilson and Marlyn Seidler as they battled hard for third. When the checkered flag waved, Jeremy Keller crossed the finish line in first place. Spencer Wilson made a last race pass to finish second ahead of Scott Gartner. Quentin Kinzley finished fourth while Marlyn Seidler rounded out the top five.

Join us Friday, June 17th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Knife River Corporation.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive