June 17th - Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 6/19/2016 5:24:44 PM

(Photos courtesy of Layn Mudder of LPT Images.)

The Dacotah Speedway hosted night two of the sixth annual Dakota Legends Tour. The four day tour brought 34 INEX Legend drivers from allover the country to Mandan, North Dakota. Race fans also got the chance to see Tony Stewart's father, Nelson, race that night on Friday, June 17th.


After two complete restarts, Kayla Koth and Tom Dworshak battled for the lead in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Koth led the first lap before Chase Schlafmann powered by to take the lead on lap two. Schlafmann, driving his sister's car, started to pull away until points leader Josh Roehrich spun in turn three. On the restart, Dylan Sandberg dove low under Schlafmann to challenge for the lead as Jason Berg lurked in third. Caution on lap four slowed the pace of the race once again for the slow car of Stan Thompson. Berg muscled into the lead on the restart but Schlafmann rallied back on the bottom. They raced side by side for several laps until the race came toa halt when Stan Thompson's car hit a rut in the track, lost a wheel and rolled in turn four. Thankfully Thompson was ok but track officials ended the feature two laps short due to the drivers extending their time limit. Jason Berg was declared the feature winner over Chase Schlafmann. Dylan Sandberg finished third ahead of Josh Roehrich and Chance Seelye.


Wishek, North Dakota's Brandon Vetter led the Hobby Stock feature from the pole. Outside pole sitter, Josh Roehrich grabbed the lead on lap two as Vetter had his hands full holding off Keith McCleary and Jeremy Engelhardt. Using the momentum from the high line, Engelhardt shuffled into second as Vetter and McCleary continue to race for third. Vetter started to fade through the field, losing third to McCleary and fourth to Wyatt Rath-Wald.As the laps wound down, Engelhardt reeled in leader Roehrich. With five laps to go, Engelhardt looked to the outside of Roehrich however, Engelhardt could not complete the pass. Engelhardt switched his line and looked low under Roehrich.They raced side by side coming to the white flag. Coming out of turn four andto the checkered flag, Jeremy Engelhardt just barely edged Josh Roehrich at the finish line to win his second feature victory of the season. Keith McCleary finished third ahead of John Gartner Jr and Wyatt Rath-Wald. 


Eric Harpole and Barrett Berg started on the front row of the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Jeremy Engelhardt charged to the front to lead lap one while John Weber tried to hold off Zach Frederick and Shawn Volk.A debris caution on lap eight regrouped the field and on the restart, Weber passed Harpole for second. Weber challenged Engelhardt for the lead and took the lead when Engelhardt's car got tight and drifted up the track with 10 laps to go. Frederick dove low under Engelhardt to take second with seven laps to go. Frederick quickly caught Weber and peaked his nose under Weber for the lead. Weber's middle line gave him the momentum to hold off Frederick but with four laps to go, Frederick threw his car in hard and took the lead away. Weber rallied back and they raced side by side with three laps to go. Battling for the win, they made contact as Weber retook the lead and went on to win his first WISSOTA Street Stock feature at the Dacotah Speedway. Racing for second,Frederick and Engelhardt made contact and spun down the backstretch. Frederick got his spot back and finished second as Engelhardt was charged with the caution. Eric Harpole finished third as Shawn Volk finished fourth ahead of Matt Brendel.


Jordan Huettl went from fourth to first in the IMCA Modified feature. A series of cautions slowed the pace of the race early in feature. On the fifth restart on lap eight, Mark Dahl passed Jason Wolla for third and quickly passed Shawn Strand for second. Strand fell into the clutches of Wolla and Spencer Wilson. They raced three wide for third until Wolla shuffled into third. With 10 laps to go, Huettl's lead started to diminish as he started catching lapped traffic. Dahl was all over Huettl's rear bumper but lapped traffic made it difficult to pass the leader. Wolla quickly caught the leaders and made it a three car battle for the win. Dahl dove low under Huettl as Wolla looked to the outside. As they crossed the Open Road Honda finish line three wide, Dahl won by inches over Huettl and Wolla. Spencer Wilson finished fourth as Shawn Strand passed Donald Robinson tofinish fifth.


In the final feature of the night, Ivan Sailer started on the pole next to Nelson Stewart in the INEX Legends feature. In the special 25 lap feature, cautions came early and often which allowed last year's Dakota Legends Tour Champion, Donavin Wiest to take the lead on a lap five restart.Wiest pulled away as Troy Hoff struggled to hold off Tim Brockhouse and Shane Williams. Williams split Hoff and Brockhouse to take second. Steven Kuntz found speed on the highside of the track and quickly caught and passed Brockhouse,Hoff and Williams. Kuntz erased Wiest's large lead and with two laps to go,Kuntz and Wiest raced side by side for the win. However, lapped traffic playeda factor as the slow car of Loren Anderson was in Kuntz's preferred line. Kuntz blew off the side of turn four to race around Anderson but Wiest had a clear shot to the checkered flag and picked up the feature win. Brockhouse slipped by Kuntz to finish second as Shane Williams crossed the line fourth and Nelson Stewart rounded out the top five.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive