August 12th - Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/14/2016 12:18:22 AM

On a night where rain was not forecasted, rain showers narrowly missed Dacotah Speedway on Friday, August 12th. After a short intermission, Stan Thompson grabbed the lead from pole sitter Josh Houn in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Thompson felt pressure from points leader Josh Roehrich, Chase Schlafmann and Dylan Sandberg. Roehrich and Schlafmann split Thompson and they continued to side by side for the lead. Schlafmann completed the pass for the lead but Roehrich stayed in Schlafmann's tire tracks. Roehrich rallied back and they raced door to door with five laps to go. Using the low line, Roehrich took the lead with two laps to go. Schlafmann threw it into corners three and four one last time but Roehrich held on to win his fourth feature victory of the year. Chance Seeyle finished third ahead of Jason Berg and Dylan Sandberg.

Paul Wanner and Curt Michaelsohn started on the front row of the Hobby Stock feature. Michaelsohn quickly grabbed the lead when the green flag waved as Wanner drifted up the track in turn two and fell back to ninth place. John Gartner Jr inherited second but cut a tire and brought out the first caution on lap three. On the restart, Wyatt Rath-Wald and points leader, Brent Vetter, battled for second as Josh Roehrich and Keith McCleary raced for fourth. As Michaelsohn started to pull away, Vetter completed the pass on Rath-Wald. Caution on lap six would regroup the field and on the restart, Vetter was all over Michaelsohn's rear bumper. With two laps to go, Vetter pulled along side Michaelsohn. The two Wishek, North Dakota drivers made contact down the backstretch but Michaelsohn held off Vetter for the feature win. Wyatt Rath-Wald finished third as Josh Roehrich finished fourth. Paul Wanner, who dropped to ninth, came back to round out the top five.

Austin Wiest led from the pole in the INEX Legends feature. It was a three wide battle for second between Troy Hoff, Kevin Jensen and Preston Martin. Hoff shuffled into second and looked low under Wiest for the lead. They briefly raced side by side until Hoff took the lead on lap five, bringing Ivan Sailer with him. Austin Wiest fell into the clutches of Shane Williams and Donavin Wiest. They raced three wide for third until Donavin Wiest took the third position. As the laps wound down, Hoff and Sailer raced side by side for the win. The leaders came up on lapped traffic and continued to race door to door. It was almost too close to call as they crossed the Open Road Honda finish line but Troy Hoff held off Ivan Sailer by .185 of a second. Points leader Donavin Wiest finished third ahead of Austin Wiest while Brian Schirado held off Tom Wagner and Dauntee Martin for fifth.

While racing for the lead, Shawn Volk made contact with pole sitter Hunter Domagala in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature, setting up for a complete restart. Matt Dosch took the lead on the restart as points leader Chris Michaelsohn was all over his rear bumper. Michaelsohn looked low and took the lead on lap five, bringing John Feist with him. A lap later, Matt Brendel slipped by Dosch for third, leaving Dosch in the clutches of Zach Frederick. Cautions continued to fall, allowing Frederick to pass Dosch on a lap eight restart and Brendel just before a caution with seven laps to go. On the restart, Frederick and Feist raced side by side for second as Brendel and Volk were door to door for fourth. Feist cleared Frederick and now Frederick had his hands full with Brendel. Contact among the leaders resulted in a pile up in turn two involving Volk, Brendel, Dosch and Allen Frederick with three laps to go. On the final restart, Frederick blew by Michaelsohn and into the lead. Frederick led the last three laps to win his second feature of the season, denying Michaelsohn of his third straight win at Dacotah Speedway. John Feist finished third as John Weber made a late race charge to finish fourth ahead of Barrett Berg and Matt Dosch.

Pole sitter Chris Welk got into Jamestown, North Dakota's Greg Friestad as the field took the green flag in the IMCA Modified feature. Welk was sent to the back and on the complete restart, Jordan Huettl shuffled into the lead before yet another caution reset the field. Brian Swenson took the lead on the restart and started to pull away before a series of quick cautions slowed the pace. On the fourth restart, Jason Wolla and Shawn Strand battled for second. Wolla held off Strand but Strand rallied back and they continued racing side by side. Despite racing hard for many laps, Wolla and Strand started catching leader Swenson. It was a three car battle for the win but Wolla grabbed the lead with six laps to go. Wolla started to pull away as Swenson tried to hold off Strand for second. It looked like clear sailing for Wolla but with two laps to go, Wolla spun in turn four by himself and brought out the caution. Strand inherited the lead and on the restart, it was a three car battle for second between Swenson, Jeremy Keller and Marlyn Seidler. Using the high line, Keller quickly moved into the second position and quickly reeled in Strand. Coming to the checkered flag, Keller gave it all had but Strand held on to win his first feature victory at the Dacotah Speedway this season. Points leader Marlyn Seidler finished third as Brian Swenson settled for fourth ahead of fifth place Spencer Wilson.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive