May 26th Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 5/27/2017 4:52:18 PM

The sun came out and the wind died down as the green flag waved at Dacotah Speedway on Friday, May 26th. To kick off the Memorial Day weekend, Dacotah Speedway paid tribute to all Military personnel who have served or are currently serving to keep our country free.

Schlafmann Ends Berg’s Winning Streak at Dacotah Speedway
Points leader Jason Berg faced adversity early in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Berg who was charged for bringing out the first caution on lap one was sent to the tail of the field. On the restart, Chase Schlafmann grabbed the lead as Berg quickly worked his way through the field. Berg, the quickest car on track, climbed into the second position where he slowly reeled in the leader, Schlafmann. As the laps wound down, the battle for third was heating up between Alex Thompson and rookie Ken Sandberg. Thompson started to pull away as Sandberg now had to hold off Craig Kastner for fourth. With two laps to go, Kastner took the fourth position as a battle for the lead was shaping up between Schlafmann and Berg. Berg was all over Schlafmann’s rear bumper but lapped traffic held up Berg. With one last chance, Berg threw his car hard into corners three and four. The leaders had to dodge the spun car of Stan Thompson but as they crossed the Open Road Honda finish line, Chase Schlafmann won by inches over Jason Berg. Alex Thompson finished third ahead of Craig Kastner and Ken Sandberg.

Engelhardt Dominates Hobby Stock Feature
After a complete restart in the Hobby Stock feature, Jeremy Engelhardt grabbed the lead on the restart. As Engelhardt started to pull away, Keith McCleary and John Gartner Jr battled for second. Wishek’s Curt Michaelsohn made it a three car battle until McCleary shut the door to retain second place. As Engelhardt’s lead continued to grow, Michaelsohn’s car started to fade, falling into the clutches of Josh Roehrich. Roehrich grabbed fourth with six laps to go as Gartner Jr challenged McCleary for second once again. Using the low line around the track. Gartner completed the pass but was no match for feature winner Jeremy Engelhardt. Keith McCleary finished third while Josh Roehrich took the checkered flag in fourth. Nathan Messer, who was charged for the lap one caution, came from the tail end of the field to finish fifth.

Hoff Wins Back-to-Back at Dacotah Speedway
Flasher’s Kevin Jensen started on the pole in the INEX Legend feature.  A caution on lap two would reset the field and Troy Hoff picked up from where he left off the week before, by grabbing the lead on the restart. Hoff pulled away quickly as Dauntae Martin tried to hold off Drew Papke for second place. Steven Kuntz, in his season debut, quickly marched through the field. Kuntz quickly passed Papke and a lap later, grabbed second from Martin. Points leader Donavin Wiest was not far behind as he was all over Kuntz’s rear bumper. Wiest muscled his way by Kuntz with six laps to go. Lapped traffic allowed Wiest to cut into Hoff’s lead but Wiest ran out of time. Troy Hoff went on to lead all 15 laps to win back-to-back victories over Donavin Wiest in Mandan. Steven Kuntz finished third as Drew Papke finished fourth. Present Martin held off brother Dauntae Martin to finish fifth.

Frederick Cruises to Victory Lane
Geoff Hellman started on the pole for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature.However, Zach Frederick grabbed the lead as the field raced into turn one. Hellman and Brad Kadrmas raced side by side for second until Shawn Volk made it a three car battle. Volk, using the low line around the track, motored his way into second, bringing Dickinson’s Deryk Voller with him. Hellman now had his hands full with Linton’s John Weber. They briefly raced door to door until Weber took the position before a lap seven caution. Frederick pulled away from the field on the restart but a caution with eight laps to go erased a five second lead. On the restart, Hunter Domagala passed Weber for fourth and challenged Voller for third before a caution with one to go set up a green-white-checkered restart. However, no one had anything for Zach Frederick as he lead from start to finish to win his first feature victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway. Shawn Volk settled for second as Hunter Domagala crossed the finish line third. John Weber and Deryk Voller rounded out the top five.

The High Line was the Fast Line for Keller
Tracy Domagala battled pole sitter Chris Barros for the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Domagala won the battle as he took the lead on lap one. Barros, started to fade through the field, losing positions to Mark Dahl, Myles Tomlinson and Shawn Strand. While everyone raced alongside the guard rail, Jeremy Keller decided to go where everyone was not, the high side. One by one, Keller picked off drivers for position, Strand, Tomlinson and Dahl. Keller now had his eyes set on Domagala and the high line around the track gave him the extra momentum to cut into Domagala’s lead. A caution on lap 12 was the last thing Domagala wanted to see as it put Keller and Strand on his rear bumper. It was a three car battle for the lead on the restart but Keller took the lead with 11 laps to go. Keller started to pull away as Domagala now had his hands full with Strand and Dahl. Dahl now using the high line, passed Domagala and Strand with ease to take second. Jeremy Keller went on to pick up his second feature win of the year over Mark Dahl. Shawn Strand finished third while Marlyn Seidler made a late race pass to finish fourth ahead of Tracy Domagala. 

For complete results and points standings go to and search for Dacotah Speedway. For more information visit us online at  Fans can also follow us on the following social media sites:  Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.  And for instant updates text the word “speedway” to 20691.

Join us this Friday, June 2nd for our Mandan Dirt Series presented by Planet Powersportz. It's also the WISSOTA AFCO Race of Champions Qualifier. The winner of the WISSOTA Street Stock feature is invited to participate in the WISSOTA 100 Race of Champions in September.

Gates open at 6:00pm, racing starts at 7:00pm. 
Fans can purchase advanced, discount tickets at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high-banked, three-eighths-mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just to the south of Memorial Highway, Mandan, ND.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive