June 9th Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 6/11/2017 8:17:42 AM

History was made at Dacotah Speedway on Friday, June 9th. It was the first time in track history that Sprint Cars, WISSOTA Late Models, IMCA Modifieds and WISSOTA Street Stocks raced on the same night. The first ever Dacotah Super Show was a huge success as fans packed the stands for arguably the four fastest car classes in Western, North Dakota.

Michaelsohn Extends Points Lead with Feature Victory
Mandan’s Jason Meidinger grabbed the lead from pole sitter Tanner Dosch in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Cautions came early and often which allowed points leader Chris Michaelson to take the lead on lap two. Matt Dosch challenged Michaelsohn for the lead as Matt Brendel passed Brad Kadrmas for third. On a lap seven restart, Kadrmas challenged Brendel for third as Allan Frederick lurked in fifth. Frederick made it a three car battle before taking fourth from Kadrmas with 10 laps to go. Dosch started to reel in leader Michaelsohn before a caution with four laps to go regrouped the field. On the restart, John Weber of Linton passed Kadrmas for fifth and was looking for more. However, John Weber ran out of time and had to settle for fifth. Matt Brendel held off Allen Frederick for third as Matt Dosch finished a season best second place. Chris Michaelsohn extended his points lead as he went on to win his fourth feature victory of the season.

Wolla Returns to Victory Lane at Dacotah Speedway
In the IMCA Modified feature, Brent Schlafmann and Hank Berry started on the front row. Berry grabbed the lead when the green flag waved and started to pull away from the field. Schlafmann now had his hands full with a fast Jason Wolla. Wolla quickly passed Schlafmann for second before Schlafmann got loose and spun on his own. A caution was the last thing Berry wanted to see as Wolla took the lead on the restart. Wolla started to distance himself from the field as third place Myles Tomlinson felt pressure from fourth place Tracy Domagala. Late race cautions erased Wolla’s large lead and on the final restart with five laps to go, Domagala passed Tomlinson for third. Berry, giving it all that he had, got too high coming out of turn four, allowing Domagala to slip by for second. As the checkered flag waved, Hank Berry held off Spencer Wilson to finish third. Jeremy Keller made a late race pass to finish fifth over Myles Tomlinson. Tracy Domagala finished second behind feature winner Jason Wolla, who picked up his second victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway.

Berry Wins from the Pole in Late Model Feature
Hank Berry and Jeremy Keller hopped out of their IMCA Modifieds and into their WISSOTA Late Models to start on the front row of the WISSOTA Late Model feature. Berry and Keller pulled away quickly from the field before a lap three caution. On the restart, Berry and Keller battled hard for the lead. Keller, who had the faster car, struggled to find a way around Berry for the lead. As they continued to race for the lead, it allowed third place Paul Mueller to slowly catch the leaders. A late race caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Keller was all over Berry’s rear bumper. With three laps to go, Keller’s car got tight and washed up the race track, allowing Mueller to grab second place. Keller rallied back and they raced side by side for second. Coming to the checkered flag, Keller got too high in corner three and spun his car coming out of turn four. Hank Berry led all 20 laps to win the feature. Paul Mueller finished second. Dickinson’s Rusty Cornelliusen finished third in his WISSOTA Late Model debut at Dacotah Speedway while Steve Pankowski finished fourth ahead of Jeremy Keller.

Nikitenko Holds Off Fedyk for Sprint Car Win
Pole sitter Kyle Fedyk of Estevean, SK quickly pulled away from the field in the Sprint Car feature. Fedyk quickly caught the tail end of the field which allowed second place Greg Nikitenko to reel in the leader. Fedyk found his groove by lap five as he started to pull away from Nikitenko in lapped traffic. However, a gaggle of slower cars allowed Nikitenko to catch leader Fedyk. Using a slow car as a pick, Nikitenko took the lead with six laps to go. Now it was Nikitenko’s turn to negotiate through lapped traffic. With three laps to go, Fedyk rallied back to challenge for the lead. They raced side by side for the win with two laps to go, but lapped traffic would be Greg Nikitenko’s friend has he held on to win the Sprint Car feature over Kyle Fedyk. Fargo’s Jackson Moffett finished a distant third while Clint Anderson of Belle Fourche, SD finished fourth. Tyson Turnbull, who spun his car early in the feature, rallied back to finish fifth.  

Join us this Friday, June 16th for the Dakota Legends Tour presented by Knife River and Liberty Tax of Mandan.

Gates open at 6:00pm, racing starts at 7:00pm. 
Fans can purchase advanced, discount tickets at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high-banked, three-eighths-mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just to the south of Memorial Highway, Mandan, ND.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive