July 7 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/10/2017 10:35:07 PM

It was a beautiful night for racing at Dacotah Speedway on Friday, July 7th. It was the day before the Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Tour started so fans got an extra special treat as drivers as far away as California and Texas made a guest appearance at the high banked,3/8th mile track. Drivers racing on the tour got a good idea of what they could expect when the Tour rolls into town on Thursday, July 13th.

Berg Picks Up 6th Season Win
Cars were five wide as the green flag waved in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Points leader Jason Berg, who started fifth, grabbed the lead on lap one. Berg quickly pulled away from second place Craig Kastner. Stan Thompson, who started last in the feature, was all over the rear bumper of third place Andy Reed. They briefly raced side by side before Thompson took the position on lap five. Reed then fell into the clutches of Ken Sandberg. Sandberg looked to the inside of Reed and with four laps to go, Sandberg slipped by for position. Andy Reed had to settle for fifth place behind Ken Sandberg and Stan Thompson. Craig Kastner finished a career best of second place. Jason Berg led all 10 laps to win his sixth feature victory Dacotah Speedway.

Rath-Wald Finds Victory in Hobby Stock Feature
Napoleon’s Wyatt Rath-Wald started on the pole for the Hobby Stock feature. As Rath-Wald pulled away from the field, it was a three wide battle for second between John Gartner Jr, James Weber and Nathan Messer. An early caution reset the field and on the restart, Wishek’s Curt Michaelsohn challenged Gartner Jr for second. They raced hard for second place as Jeremy Engelhardt, who started eighth, lurked in fourth. Engelhardt made it a three car battle for second. Michaelsohn slipped by Gartner for second on lap six but Gartner and Engelhardt continued to race three wide for second. As the laps wound down, the race for second heated up. Engelhardt briefly grabbed second from Michaelsohn but Michaelsohn retook the position with three laps to go. As the crossed the Open Road Honda finish line, Curt Michaelsohn crossed the line second as Jeremy Engelhardt narrowly edged John Gartner Jr for third. Wishek’s Brent Vetter, making his second start of the season, finished the night in fifth place while Wyatt Rath-Wald led all 15 laps to win his first Dacotah Speedway feature victory of the season.

Hoff Earns 4th Feature Victory at Dacotah Speedway
Rookie Jeremiah Erickson led the field to the green flag in the INEX Legends feature. Flasher’s Kevin Jensen quickly took the led but Austin Wiest grabbed the lead on lap two. The two drivers swapped the lead a couple times before points leader Troy Hoff took the lead on lap seen. Austin Wiest started to fade, losing valuable positions to Dauntae Martin and Donavin Wiest. As Hoff started to distance himself from the field,Martin and Donavin Wiest raced door to door for second. Donavin Wiest, who started 10th, finally cleared Martin for second with four laps to go. Martin now had to hold off a strong Ivan Sailer for third. They raced side by side for fourth with one lap to go. As the checkered flag waved, Dauntae Martin edged Ivan Sailer by inches at the finish line for third. Donavin Wiest settled for second as Troy Hoff went on to pick up his fourth feature victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway. Austin Wiest rounded out the top five.

Carter Earns First Career Dacotah Speedway Feature Victory
Dustin Frank from Flasher started on the pole for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Frank cleared the field as Zach Frederick and Royce Jawaski battled for second. As they raced side by side, they started to catch leader Frank. They briefly raced three wide before Frederick shuffled into the lead. Frank and Jawaski now had to fend off Lisbon’s Johnny Carter. As they raced three wide for second, Jawaski made contact with Carter and sent Carter spinning in turn two. Jawaski was charged with the caution and on the restart, Carter challenged Frederick for the lead. Carter pulled started to pull away with 10 laps to go but a caution with four to go regrouped the field and erased Carter’s enormous lead. On the restart, Carter got loose allowing Frederick to look under Carter for the lead but Carter pulled away again to win his first feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. Zach Frederick, who built the chassis for Jonny Carter, finished second. Points leader Chris Michaelsohn finished third as Dustin Frank finished a season best of fourth place. Deryk Voller crossed the finish line in fifth place.

Domagala Snaps Winless Drought at Dacotah Speedway
Early race cautions shook up the starting line-ups as pole sitter Josh Anderson and Jay Tooley got caught up in a wreck on lap one. After two complete restarts, Sidney, Montana’s Hank Berry inherited the lead and quickly pulled away from field. Tracy Domagala, who started ninth, quickly passed Brent Schlafmann for second. Domagala got too high out of turns three and four allowing Schlafmann to retake second. Domagala quickly regained his stride and retook second place a lap later. Schlafmann now felt pressure from behind by Marlyn Seidler. They raced side by side for several laps before Seidler completed the pass for third. Berry’s large lead was quickly erased as Domagala, the quickest car on track, reeled in the leader. Domagala was all over Berry’s rear bumper with seven laps to go. Domagala looked low under Berry but Berry shut the door.Then switching lanes, Domagala jumped to the outside of Berry and powered by and into the lead with six laps to go. Domagala pulled away to win his first race at Dacotah Speedway since 2013. Hank Berry had to settle for second ahead of Brent Schlafmann and Marlyn Seidler. Jeremy Keller, who started 13th, finished in fifth place. 

Join us this Thursday, July 13th for Championship Night of the Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Tour.

Gates open at 6:00pm, racing starts at 7:00pm. 
Fans can purchase advanced, discount tickets at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high-banked, three-eighths-mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just to the south of Memorial Highway, Mandan, ND.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive