Dakota Classic Modified Tour - Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/22/2017 11:09:05 AM

The 28th Annual Dakota Classic Modified Tour wrapped up in Mandan at Dacotah Speedway on Thursday, July 13thMinot’s Michael Vennes led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Stock Car feature. Outside pole sitter, Matt Speckman quickly grabbed the lead when the green flag waved but had his hands full with a strong Curt Lund and Elijah Zevenbergen behind him. Lund shuffled into the top spot before a series of quick cautions regrouped the field. On the restart, Zevenbergen was all over Lund’s rear bumper. Lund tried to block by drifting into Zevenbergen’s preferred high line but Zevenbergen dove low and grabbed the lead on lap seven. Lund then fell into the clutches of Austin Daae and Dalton Flory. They raced three wide for second before a late race caution reset the field. On there start, Lund dove low under Zevenbergen and slid up and into the lead.However, Zevenbergen rallied back with a clean slide job to retake the lead.The two drivers flip-flopped positions in the closing laps. As the white flag waved, Lund retook the lead but Zevenberger pulled up along side racing down the backstretch. Going into turns three and four, Zevenbergen threw the car in hard, losing valuable speed on the corner exit, allowing Lund to dive in low under him. As they came to the checkered flag, they made door to door contact. However, it was Elijah Zevenberger with the edge across the Open Road Honda finish line to win the feature over Curt Lund. 

Every point and every position mattered as the top two in points, Johnny Scott and Hunter Marriott, were only separated by three points going into the evening. When the green flag waved, Aaron Turnbull pulled away from the field in a hurry. Turnbull’s large lead disappeared on lap nine when points leader Johnny Scott had a flat tire and brought out the caution. On the restart, Marriott dove low under Turnbull but once again,Turnbull pulled away. Marriott started to fall into the clutches of third place Jordan Grabouski. They battled hard for second place as Turnbull started to catch lapped traffic. However, Turnbull continued to pull away and led all 30 laps to win the feature. Hunter Marriott, who finished second, was crowned the Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Tour champion.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive