ND Governors Cup Night 1 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/6/2017 4:26:10 PM

Drivers from all over the Midwest flocked to the Dacotah Speedway for night one of the North Dakota Governors Cup. When the green flag waved, over 140 drivers hit the track for six different car classes.

Schlafmann Returns to Victory Lane
Chase Schlafmann passed pole sitter Craig Kastner for the lead in the IMCA Sport Compacts. There was contact between Kastner, Tom Dworshak and points leader Jason Berg. As Schlafmann pulled away, Berg cleared Dworshak for third. Berg quickly reeled in second place Kastner and completed the pass on lap four.With six laps to go, Berg had to overcome a second deficit behind leader Schlafmann. Schlafmann cruised to victory to pick up his second feature victory of the season. Points leader for Jason Berg settled for second. Craig Kastner finished third as Stan Thompson held off Ken Sandberg and Alex Thompson.

Rath-Wald Makes it Three-In-A-Row at Dacotah Speedway
Napoleon’s Wyatt Rath-Wald grabbed the early lead in the Hobby Stock feature. Brent Vetter of Wishek was all over his rear bumper before a series of early cautions regrouped the field. Cautions plagued the feature but on the final restart of the evening with four laps to go, Vetter dove low under Rath-Wald.  But the momentum from the high side allowed Rath-Wald to pull away out of turn two. Dylan Sandberg, looked low under points leader Jeremy Engelhardt for third. Dylan Sandberg made a last lap pass to take third at the Open Road Honda finish line over Jeremy Engelhardt. Wyatt Rath-Wald led all 20 laps to win his third feature in a row over Brent Vetter as Josh Roehrich rounded out the top five.


Wiest Denies Hoff of INEX Legends Feature Victory
Points leader Troy Hoff started on the pole for the INEX Legend feature. Hoff and Donavin Wiest battled door to door for the lead.Cautions came early and often which put Wiest on Hoff’s rear bumper. On are start with nine laps to go, Wiest cleared Hoff for the lead. Hoff then fell into the clutches of third place Andrew Jochim. A caution with five laps to go reset the field. Hoff dove low on a restart with five laps to go but Wiest’s high side momentum maintained the top position. As the checkered flag waved,Hoff threw his car in under Wiest but got loose out of turn four. Donavin Wiest held on to win his third feature victory of the season over Troy Hoff. Andrew Jochim finished third ahead of Drew Papke as Ivan Sailer made a last lap pass on Austin Wiest.

Carter Picks Up Second Career Feature Victory at Dacotah Speedway
In the WISSOTA Street Stocks, outside pole sitter Kendall Booke grabbed lead from pole sitter Jonny Carter when the green flag waved. Carter moved up the race track and found speed on the high side of the track. Carter quickly caught and passed Booke for the lead as Booke now had his hands full with points leader Chris Michaelsohn. As Booke and Michaelsohn raced door to door for second, Zach Frederick and John Weber raced side by side for fourth. Michaelsohn cleared Booke for second as Weber completed the pass on Frederick. Frederick started to fade as Royce Jawaski challenged for fifth. They briefly raced side by side before Jawaski claimed the fourth positions. Jawaski’s climb to the front continued as he passed Booke for third. As the leader, Carter, continued to stretch out his lead over Michaelsohn, fourth place Booke started to feel pressure from behind from Weber. As the laps wound down, Weber continued to look low under Booke. When the checkered flag waved, John Weber finished fourth ahead of Kendall Booke. Royce Jawaski finished a season best of third place behind second place Chris Michaelsohn. Jonny Carter of Lisbon, ND led all 20 laps to win his second feature victory of the year.

Corell Turns Season Around in Victory Lane
Jarrett Carter and Johnny Corell started on the front row of the IMCA Modified feature. Corell, in a new modified, quickly grabbed the lead and pulled away before a lap four caution regrouped the field. The caution put Jason Wolla and Jarrett Carter on Corell’s rear bumper but Corell pulled away once again on the restart. Jeremy Keller was quick to pass Carter for third, leaving Carter in the clutches of fifth place Tracy Domagala. Keller started to reel in second place Wolla as Corell started catching lapped traffic. With eight laps to go, Wolla and Keller battled side by side for second as Carter tried to hold off Domagala for fourth. Wolla shut the door on Keller while Domagala overtook fourth place from Carter. Despite negotiating his way through lapped traffic, John Corell dominated the feature to lead all 25 laps to win the feature over Jason Wolla. Jeremy Keller finished third as Tracy Domagala crossed the finish line fourth ahead of Jarrett Carter.

Turnbull Dominates in Late Model Feature
In the final feature of the evening, Minot’s Robert Hellebust led the field to the green flag in the WISSOTA Late Model feature. Hellebust led early until Aaron Turnbull found his line on the high side of the track. Turnbull blew by Hellebust on lap five. As Turnbull started to pull away, third place Paul Mueller had his hands full with Hank Berry and Cole Schill. They raced three wide until Schill shuffled into third, leaving Mueller and Berry to continue racing for fourth. Late race lapped traffic helped Berry find a way around Mueller. Paul Mueller held on to finish fifth behind Hank Berry. Cole Schill of West Fargo finished third as Robert Hellebust finished a distant second behind feature winner Aaron Turnbull. 

Join us Friday, August 11th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Cenex and The Dental Suite. 

Gates open at 6:00pm, racing starts at 7:00pm.
Fans can purchase advanced, discount tickets at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high-banked, three-eighths-mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just to the south of Memorial Highway, Mandan, ND

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive