ND Governors Cup Night 2 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/6/2017 5:00:42 PM

Championship Night of the North Dakota Governors Cup kicked off on Saturday, July 29th.

Berg Redeems Himself with Feature Victory
Despite finishing runner up the night before, Jason Berg was quick to grab the lead in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Berg pulled away from Schlafmann as the race for third place wash eating up between Craig Kastner and Stan Thompson. They raced hard for third,Alex Thompson had his hands full with Ken Sandberg. With four laps to go, Ken Sandberg cleared Alex Thompson to finish fourth. Craig Kastner held off Stan Thompson for third has Chase Schlafmann finished a distant second behind feature winner Jason Berg. Berg’s win over Schlafmann on Championship night was the tie-breaker that crowned Berg the North Dakota Governors Cup champion.


Late Race Caution Gives Engelhardt Opportunity for Feature Win
Picking up where he left off the night before, Wyatt Rath-Wald led from the pole in the Hobby Stock feature. Second place Charlie Christ started fading fast, losing positions to Curt Michaelsohn, Brent Vetter and Jeremy Engelhardt. Late race caution with seven laps to go set up a three car battle for the win between Rath-Wald, Vetter and Engelhardt. As they raced three wide, Engelhardt muscled his way into the lead with four laps to go. Engelhardt started to pull away as Rath-Wald and Vetter continued to race for second. As the checkered flag waved, Brent Vetter edged Wyatt Rath-Wald at the line for second. Curt Michaelsohn finished fourth ahead of Keith McCleary. Jeremy Engelhardt went on to win his third feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. Vetter’s second place finish over Rath-Wald was just enough to clinch the North Dakota Governors Cup championship.


Wiest Goes Back-to-Back for North Dakota Governors Cup Weekend
Donavin Wiest and Drew Papke started on the front row of the INEX Legends feature. They raced side by side for the lead before Wiest took the top spot, bringing Andrew Jochim with him. Jochim, who started third, challenged Wiest for the lead. As they continued to battle for the lead, it allowed Papke to catch the leaders. Papke started to peak under Jochim letting Wiest to pull away. Donavin Wiest swept the weekend, picking up his fourth feature victory of the season. Andrew Jochim held off Drew Papke at the finish line to finish second. Preston Martin finished fourth as Troy Hoff rounded out the top five.


Domagala Holds Off Carter for First WISSOTA Street Stock Win at Home Track
Outside pole sitter, Kendell Booke grabbed the lead from pole sitter Jonny Carter in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Carter looked under Booke for the lead but started to feel pressure from behind from Dickinson’s Hunter Domagala. An early caution regrouped the field and on there start, it was a three wide battle for the lead between Booke, Carter and Domagala. Domagala shuffled into the lead as Booke and Carter continued to race door to door for second. Carter cleared Booke for second and started to reel in leader Domagala. A series of late race cautions set up a single file restart with five laps to go. When the green flag waved, Carter looked low under Domagala but Domagala started to pull away. Giving it all he had, Carter through his car into corners three and four but as the checkered flag waved, Jonny Carter got loose and just narrowly edged Kendall Booke at the finish line. Todd Carter finished fourth as Geoff Hellman finished fifth. Hunter Domagala went on to his first feature victory at Dacotah Speedway in the WISSOTA Street Stocks as Jonny Carter took home the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.


Keller Untouchable in IMCA Modified Feature
Hank Berry of Sidney, Montana started on the pole for the IMCA Modified feature. However, Jeremy Keller was quick to grab the lead and pull away when the green flag waved. Berry had a handful with the strong Jason Wolla behind him. An early caution allowed Wolla to grab second on the restart.Cautions came early and often but each and every time, Keller pulled away.Jeremy Keller led all 25 lap to win the feature and lock up the North Dakota Governors Cup championship. Jason Wolla settled for second for the second night in a row. Hank Berry held off Robert Hellebust for third as Brent Schlafmann finished fifth.


Hanten Finds Victory Lane in First Race at Dacotah Speedway
In the final feature of the evening, Tyson Turnbull started on the pole for the Western North Dakota Sprint Car feature. When the green flag waved, it was West Fargo’s Ty Hanten that took the lead. Hanten pulled away from Turnbull early before a lap four caution regrouped the field. On there start, Greg Nikitenko got loose, losing third place to Kelly Miller. Hanten was quick to catch lapped traffic but a caution with nine laps to go reset the field. However, no one could catch Ty Hanten as he led all 25 laps to win the feature and the North Dakota Governors Cup championship. Tyson Turnbull finished second ahead of Kelly Miller. Greg Nikitenko held on to finish fourth as Dusty Lawson finished fifth.


Join us Friday, August 11th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Cenex and The Dental Suite. 

Gates open at 6:00pm, racing starts at 7:00pm.
Fans can purchase advanced, discount tickets at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high-banked, three-eighths-mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just to the south of Memorial Highway, Mandan, ND.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive