2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

Posted by John Gartner 10/31/2018 5:34:30 PM

Bismarck-Mandan Stock Car Association Names its 3rd Class of Hall of Fame Inductees

Mandan, ND--The third class of inductees into the Bismarck -Mandan Racing Hall of Fame have been selected by the HOF Committee. Four drivers and one former promoter will be inducted at the Bismarck-Mandan Stock Car Association Awards Banquet in October.

Pioneer Division--Jimmy Bohl of Flasher, ND raced during the late 1950's and 1960's at the old Dacotah Speedway east of Bismarck.

Legacy Division--Three local drivers got their start racing at the old Bismarck Speedway located just east of the city.

Paul Schulz of Washburn was a dominant force in the Late Model division at tracks all over the state in the 1970's. He switched over to the new Modified division in the 1990's and continued to race on a regular basis  until 2013. He will be inducted in his first year of eligibility.

Darrell Bauer started racing in 1977 in the street division. During his 30 plus year career the Mandan driver won 13 season championships in the street class. super stock, limited late model, and modified divisions. He also raced regularly until 2013. Bauer also will be inducted in his first year of eligibility.

Terry Barnes also began his racing career at the old Bismarck Speedway. The Bismarck driver fielded race cars in the street, super stock, limited late model and modified divisions. Special recognition was given to Barnes for his promotion of racing, especially for giving bikes to young fans for many years. 

Foundation Builder Category--Darrell Farland was selected due to his tireless work to promote the old Fasttrax facility that replaced the old Bismarck Speedway. He took over the facility at a critical time when racing was threatened with losing its local race track after a series of private promoters lost interest in the sport.

These five inductees join the original group that were selected over the past two years.
They include: 
(charter) Lefty Herman, Johnny Gartner, Alan Berg, Ivan Sailer, Don Helbling, Bob Simmers & John J. Gartner,
(2017) Terry Oswald, Leo Bukhardsmeier, LeRoy Walker, Dick Schulz and Allen Johnson.  

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive