Dacotah Speedway August 10 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/11/2018 3:59:31 PM

It was a hot night for racing on Friday, August 10th at Dacotah Speedway. As temperatures crept into 90’s, the racing action was just as hot on track.


Kastner Steals Win from Points Leader

Rookie Tanner Hofer led from the pole in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As Hofer started to distance himself from the field, it was a three wide battle for second between points leader Seth Howe-Kellar, Ken Sandberg and Craig Kastner. Howe-Kellar and Sandberg cleared Kastner and quickly ran down the leader, Hofer. They split Hofer battling for the lead as Howe-Kellar shuffled into the lead. Sandberg started to fall into the clutches of third place Craig Kastner. They made contact as they raced hard, allowing Kastner to grab the second position with three laps to go. Kastner reeled in Howe-Kellar and they raced side by side with two laps to go. As they took the white flag, Kastner cleared Howe-Kellar for the lead and went on to win his third feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. Seth Howe-Kellar finished second ahead of Stan Thompson. Alex Thompson crossed the finish line forth as Tanner Hofer rounded out the top five.


Gartner Denies Sandberg of First Career Feature Victory

Outside pole sitter, Curt Michaelsohn, grabbed the lead from pole sitter Nathan Messer in the Hobby Stock feature. As Michaelsohn started to pull away from the field, Josh Roehrich challenged Messer for second. Messer started to fade through the field, losing positions to Chad Hausauer, Brent Vetter and Dylan Sandberg. Roehrich started to close in on the leader before his engine went up in a cloud of thick white smoke with five laps to go. On the restart, Vetter was slow to go causing a may lay behind him. On the following restart, second place A.J. Davenport made contact with the leader as they raced hard for the win. The contact caused Michaelsohn to spin on the front stretch and yet another caution regrouped the field. On the final restart, Sandberg dove low under Michaelsohn to sweep up the track and grab the lead with two laps to go, bringing points leader John Gartner Jr with him. In a Hail Mary move, John Gartner Jr threw his car hard in corners three and four, and grabbed the lead coming to the checkered flag to win his sixth feature victory over Dylan Sandberg.  Curt Michaelsohn, despite lead much of the race, finished third. Chad Hausauer held off A.J. Davenport, who drove through the field after starting tail end because of alate race caution to finish fourth.


Estenson Parks It in Dacotah Speedway Victory Lane

After a complete restart, Austin Wiest grabbed the lead in the INEX Legends feature. Behind him, Brian Hanson and Dauntae Martin raced for second as Drew Papke lurked in fourth. Tim Estenson of Fargo, North Dakota, challenged Papke for fourth. Estenson swiftly passed Papke and reeled in Hanson. Estenson wasted no time passing Hanson and quickly caught Martin for second. Estenson continued his march to the front as he passed Martin and chased down the leader Wiest. With seven laps to go, Estenson looked under Wiest but struggled to complete the pass. They battled hard for the lead, racing side by side often until Estenson cleared Wiest with three laps to go. Wiest then felt pressure from behind from points leader Donavin Wiest. Tim Estenson led the final three laps to win the feature victory. Austin Wiest held off Donavin Wiest to finish second. Dauntae Martin crossed the finish line fourth while Drew Papke finish fifth.


Hellman Wins in Dominating Fashion

Hunter Domagala grabbed the lead from pole sitter Barrett Berg in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Berg had his hands full with a fast Zach Frederick for second. They raced side by side and started to catch the leader. They split Domagala as they raced for the lead. This allowed Geoff Hellman, who started eighth, to sweep by the leaders and into the lead on lap four. Hellman quickly pulled away as Frederick shuffled into second. Domagala started to fall through the field, losing positions to Allan Frederick, John Feist and Barrett Berg. As the laps wound down, Berg fell into the clutches of Matt Dosch. Dosch quickly passed Berg and started to chase down Feist. Unfortunately, Dosch ran out of time and had to settle for fifth place. John Feist finished fourth behind third place Allan Frederick. Points leader Zach Frederick finished a distant second as Geoff Hellman won in dominating fashion to pick up his second victory at his home track.


Seidler Makes Late Race Pass for Win

Pole sitter Chris Welk led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Modified feature. Welk slid up the track in turn one, allowing Travis Peery to slip by to take the lead at the start. Peery started to pull away from the field, but cautions came early and often throughout the feature. The restarts worked in Marlyn Seidler’s favor as he quickly moved up through the field from ninth to second. Drivers calmed down after a lap eight restart and which provided a fantastic battle for the lead between Peery and Seidler. The leaders started to race side by side for the win until lapped traffic force Seidler to follow Peery through the slower cars. Contact between Peery and the slow car of Ryan Novak reset the field for a four lap shootout. Caution would once again regroup the field with three laps to go but on the final restart of the night, Seidler looked to the outside of Peery. Finding speed, they battled side by side for the win. With two laps to go, Seidler passed Peery for the lead. Peery quickly felt pressure from behind from Marcus Tomlinson. As the checkered flag waved, Marlyn Seidler found victory for the second time at Dacotah Speedway this season. Marcus Tomlinson made a last lap pass to grab second from Travis Peery. Jeremy Keller finished fourth ahead of points leader Shawn Strand. 

Join us Friday, August 17th for the 10th annual Drive to Survive presented by Leingang Home Center. Fans can purchase a Drive to Survive t-shirt and receive FREE admission into the races on August 17th. T-shirts are $20.00 each and all proceeds raised from the t-shirt sales will go directly back to the Bismarck Cancer Center. T-shirts are available for purchase at the Bismarck Cancer Center and will also be available at Dacotah Speedway before and during the races.  

Grandstands open Friday, August 17th at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

For Dacotah Speedway updates and instant information, text the word "SPEEDWAY" to 20691.

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive