Dacotah Speedway August 24 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/25/2018 7:49:12 PM

After the season started with three straight weeks of rain outs, the racing action at Dacotah Speedway wrapped up on Friday, August 24th with Championship night. It was a season full of exciting, side by side racing, first time winners and the occasional roll over. Every position and every point mattered as the checkered flag waved for the final time in 2018.


Zenz Returns to Dacotah Speedway Victory Lane

After a complete restart, Andy Reed grabbed the lead in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Reed felt pressure from behind as Ken Sandberg and Christopher Zenz challenged for the lead. Zenz slipped by Sandberg for second and quickly caught Reed for the lead. They briefly raced side by side for the lead until Zenz grabbed the top spot on lap five. As Zenz started to pull away from the field, Greg Zenz started to catch Reed for second. As the white flag waved,Greg Zenz passed Andy Reed for second. Craig Kastner finished fourth ahead of fifth place Seth Howe-Kellar. Christopher Zenz drove away to win his second feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. Seth Howe-Kellar’s fifth place finish was enough to wrap up the IMCA Sport Compact Track Championship.


Gartner Wins 7th Feature Win to Wrap Up Track Championship

Bismarck’s Terry Davenport grabbed the lead from pole sitter Derrick Appert in the Hobby Stock feature. Appert fell into the clutches of Curt Michaelsohn and John Gartner Jr. Michaelsohn quickly shuffled into the second position and challenged Davenport for the lead. As Michaelsohn peaked to the outside, John Gartner Jr stuck his nose down low under Davenport. They raced three wide until Michaelsohn claimed the lead before a caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Gartner dove low and slid up in front of Michaelsohn to take the top spot. A.J. Davenport followed and threw his car hard into corners three and four under Gartner. A.J. Davenport got loose which allowed Michaelsohn to slip by for second. As the checkered flag waved, John Gartner Jr clinched his first track championship in his racing career with his seventh feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. Defending track champion, Curt Michaelsohn, had to settle for second ahead of A.J. Davenport. Dylan Sandberg finished fourth while Dylan Bitz finish a career best of fifth place.


Weist Clinches 7th Straight Championship with Victory

When the green flag waved, Nate Keena grabbed the lead from pole sitter Mike Dowling in the INEX Legends feature. Keena had his hands full with a speedy Drew Papke. Papke, who started eight, quickly passed Keena for the lead on lap six. An early caution reset the field and on the restart, it was a three wide battle for the lead between Papke, Keena and points leader Donavin Wiest. Wiest split the middle to grab the lead before a late race caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Austin Wiest and Papke battled for second. They raced door to door for second and as the checkered flag waved, Austin Wiest narrowly edged Drew Papke at the finish line for second place. Nate Keena finished fourth while Dauntae Martin held off Carson Dowling and Mike Dowling for fifth place. Donavin Wiest claimed his seventh Dacotah Speedway track championship with his fifth victory of the season.


Hellman Wins Three In A Row at Dacotah Speedway

The rookie, Wyatt Rath-Wald, led the field to the green flag in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Rath-Wald led early as a series of early cautions reset the field. On the second restart on lap three, Geoff Hellman challenged Rath-Wald for the lead. They briefly raced side by side until Hellman grabbed the lead on lap four. As Hellman started to pull away, Jonny Carter passed Rath-Wald for second. Rath-Wald continued to fade through the field, losing positions to Allan Frederick, John Feist and Royce Jawaski. As Hellman stretched his lead, Feist, Frederick and Jawaski battled for third. When the checkered flag waved, John Feist held off Allen Frederick and Royce Jawaski for third.Despite catching lapped traffic late in the race, Jonny Carter finished a distance second place behind feature winner Geoff Hellman. Points leader Zach Frederick won back-to-back track championships with his sixth place finish.


Strand Seals Championship with First Victory Since 2016

Outside pole sitter, Rusty Kollman grabbed the lead from pole sitter Brent Schlafmann in the IMCA Modified feature. Early cautions slowed the pace but on the second restart, Travis Peery muscled into the lead. Peery started to pull away as a series of cautions regrouped the field. On are start with 11 laps to go, points leader Shawn Strand slipped into second but John Corell rallied back. As they raced hard for second, Jeremy Keller lurked in third. A late race caution allowed Strand to look low under Peery on a  restart with five laps to go. Peery, trying to defend the lead, over drove turn four and spun in front of the field with three laps to go. Peery, despite leading much of the race, was sent to the tail end of the field for the final restart. Strand inherited the lead and when the green flag waved, Keller went high as Strand dove low. Corell looked under Keller for second which allowed Shawn Strand to pull away and win his first feature victory since 2016. Jeremy Keller held off John Corell to finish second while Marcus Tomlinson made a late race march through the field to finish fourth. Brent Schlafmann finished a season best of fifth place. Shawn Strand’s victory was enough to capture the track championship over Jeremy Keller.   

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive