North Dakota Governors Cup Recap - Night 1

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/29/2019 2:53:09 PM

Dacotah Speedway hosted the North Dakota Governors Cup Auto Races on Friday, July 26th & Saturday, July 27th. The double header racing weekend saw 160 cars in the pits for an action packed two-day show.



Bismarck’s Craig Kastner led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Outside pole sitter Ken Sandberg grabbed the lead going into turn one but got tight coming out of two, allowing Greg Zenz to inherit the lead. Cautions came early and often through out the 12 lap feature. On the final restart of the evening, Christopher Zenz passed Greg Zenz to overtake the lead. They battled long and hard for the feature win but as the checkered flag waved, Christopher held off his father for the win. Craig Kastner finished third ahead of Peder Dekrey and Paul Schuh.



Chad Hausauer and Brent Vetter battled for the lead in the Hobby Stock feature. They raced side by side for several laps until a series of early cautions regrouped the field. The restarts allowed Mike Appert to slip by Hausauer as Vetter pulled away each and every time. As the laps wound down, Hausauer fell into the clutches of Curt Michaelsohn and John Gartner Jr. As they battled for third, points leader A.J. Davenport quickly caught the top five. When the checkered flag waved, Davenport made a last lap pass to finish third ahead of John Gartner Jr and Chad Hausauer. Mike Appert finished second while Brent Vetter went on to win the feature victory.



Outside pole sitter, Andrew Jochim grabbed the lead from pole sitter Brody Carlsrud in the INEX Legend feature. An early race caution reset the field and as they took the green flag for the restart, Jochim, Carlsrud and Steven Kuntz raced three wide for the lead. Jochim held onto the lead as Kuntz had mechanical issues and he retired his car to the pits. Jochim and Carlsrud continued to battle as they started to catch slower lapped traffic. That allowed third place Tye Wilke to reel in the leaders. Using lapped traffic to his advantage, Wilke passed Carlsrud for second and challenged Jochim for the win. However, Andrew Jochim held off Tye Wilke for the feature win. Brody Carlsrud had to settle for third ahead of Donavin Wiest and Austin Wiest.



Jonny Carter took the early lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Carter pulled away quickly as points leader John Weber tried to hold off Jeremy Keller for second. A late race caution erased Carter’s large lead however, when the race restarted, it was a three car battle for third between Keller, Todd Carter and Scott Gartner. They raced three wide as the white flag waved. As they raced through corners three and four, Jeremy Keller held off Scott Gartner and Todd Carter for third. John Weber finished a distant second behind feature winner Jonny Carter.



Shawn Strand and Casey Arneson led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Modified feature. Arneson passed Strand going into turn one and quickly distanced himself from the rest of the field. Leaders caught lapped traffic midway through the feature. While racing around slower cars, second place Strand and third place Hank Berry made contact and spun in turns one and two. On the restart, Arneson pulled away once more as Austin Arneson slipped by Myles Tomlinson for second. In the closing laps, points leader Tom Berry Jr moved into the fourth position. When the checkered flag waved, Brad Hartigan finished fifth behind Tom Berry Jr. Crossing the finish line in third was Myles Tomlinson behind Austin Arneson. Casey Arneson led all 25 laps to take home the feature victory.



The NOSA and CAOSS Sprint Cars ended Night 1 of the North Dakota Governors Cup Auto races. Jordan Adams started on the pole but it was outside pole sitter, Mark Dobmeier, who shot out of a cannon when the green flag waved.An early caution erased Dobmeier’s large lead but the on the restart, Dobmeier pulled away again. A caution with seven laps to go regrouped the field but on the restart, Wade Nygaard gave Dobmeier a run for the money as he dove low under Dobmeier into turns one and two. Nygaard slid high up the track allowing Dobmeier to retake the lead going down the backstretch. Mark Dobmeier pulled away to win the feature. Wade Nygaard settled for second while Jade Hastings finished third. Nick Omdahl finished fourth while Jordan Adams rounded out the top five.

Join us Friday, August 9th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Red Carpet Car Wash.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive