North Dakota Governors Cup Recap - Night 2

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/29/2019 3:01:15 PM

Every point and every position mattered going into Championship Night of the North Dakota Governors Cup Auto Races. The racing action only intensified as Champions would be crowned at the end of the night.



Braydee Hanson led from the pole in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Hanson quickly had his hands full with a speedy Greg Zenz in second. An early caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Christopher Zenz passed his father, Greg, to challenge Hanson for the win. Christopher grabbed the lead with three laps to go but Hanson rallied back. As the white flag waved, Hanson stayed glued to Christopher Zenz’s rear bumper. Going into corners three and four for the final time, Hanson threw his car hard into the corners but Christopher Zenz held on to sweep the double header weekend over Braydee Hanson. Greg Zenz finished third while Craig Kastner finished fourth ahead of Stan Thompson. Christopher Zenz’s two feature wins secured his North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.



Paul Morman and Brent Vetter battled for the lead in the Hobby Stock feature. Vetter cleared Morman for the lead but felt pressure from behind from John Gartner Jr. By lap four, Gartner motored by Vetter and started pulling away from the field. A series of mid-race cautions reset the field but on each restart, Gartner pulled away. A caution with three laps to go would erase Gartner’s large lead. However, under caution, Gartner’s raceiver, a device that allows drivers to hear race commands from scoring officials, died during the race. As a safety precaution, Gartner asked to borrow another driver’s raceiver but track officials deemed this as working on the car under caution. Gartner, who led much of the race was sent to the tail which allowed Dylan Sandberg to inherit the lead. On the final restart of the race, Dylan Sandberg held off points leader A.J. Davenport to win his first Dacotah Speedway victory. Curt Michaelsohn finished third ahead of Paul Morman and Nathan Messer. A.J. Davenport proved consistency was key as he won his first North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.



Outside pole sitter, Andrew Jochim, grabbed the lead from pole sitter Austin Wiest in the INEX Legends feature. Cautions came early and often but Jochim held off the charge from behind. Points leader Drew Papke passed Austin Wiest for second and started to close in on Jochim. As the leaders battled for the lead, Austin Wiest had his hands full with a strong Donavin Wiest for third. With five laps to go, Donavin slipped by Austin for third. As the laps wound down, Jochim started to stretch his lead over Papke. When the checkered flag waved, Andrew Jochim picked up back-to-back feature victories. Drew Papke finished second ahead of Donavin Wiest while Austin Wiest held off Preston Martin for fourth. Andrew Jochim’s back-to-back feature wins clinched the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.



It was a three car battle for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature between Kyle Anderson, Todd Carter and Jonny Carter. Todd Carter grabbed the early lead as Anderson slipped back to fourth. Zach Frederick quickly passed Jonny Carter and challenged Todd Carter for the lead. They raced side by side for many laps as Jonny Carter lurked in third. Late race cautions reset the field and on the final restart of the night, Jonny Carter moved up to the high side of the track. Jonny Carter passed Frederick for second and quickly reeled in his uncle, Todd Carter. They raced side by side for the win but a caution would halt the race before the checkered flag could wave. Scoring officials declared Jonny Carter the victor as they reverted back to the previous lap. The victory was Jonny Carter’s second win of the weekend and deemed him the North Dakota Governors Cup Champion. Todd Carter had to settle for second ahead of Zach Frederick. Points leader John Weber extended his points lead with a solid fourth place finish while Matt Dosch made a last lap pass to finish fifth ahead of Kyle Anderson.



Points leader Tom Berry Jr started on the pole for the IMCA Modified feature. Berry and Austin Arneson raced side by side for the lead until Berry cleared Arneson on lap three. Berry started to pull away but as leaders started to catch lapped traffic by lap 11, Berry’s lead started to shrink. Berry struggled to negotiate the lapped traffic which allowed Arneson to slip by on lap 14. As the laps wound down, Arneson stretched his lead over the field. Arneson led the final 11 laps to win the feature victory. Tom Berry Jr finished a distant second while Jeremy Keller finish third. Casey Arneson made a late race pass to finish fourth ahead of Zach Dockter. Austin Arneson picked up the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.



Defending North Dakota Governors Cup Champion, Wade Nygaard started on the pole for the Sprint Car feature. When the green flag waved, Nygaard pulled away while Mark Dobmeier passed Jordan Adams to grab second place. By lap four, the leaders were already catching lapped traffic. Dobmeier quickly erased Nygaard’s large lead as lapped traffic allowed Dobmeier to briefly grab the lead. However Nygaard’s momentum allowed him to retake the lead. Late race cautions slowed the pace as Dobmeier grabbed the lead before the final caution of the night on lap three. On the final restart, Dobmeier got loose out of turn two which allowed Nygaard to slip by. Wade Nygaard led the final two laps to win the feature over Mark Dobmeier. Jade Hastings finished third while Brendan Mullen held off Greg Nikitenko for fourth place. Wade Nygaard’s victory clinch his second North Dakota Governors Cup Championship.


Join us Friday, August 9th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Red Carpet Car Wash.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.  


Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive