Dacotah Speedway August 9 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 8/11/2019 8:39:14 PM

After a month of racing specials, it was a normal night of racing at Dacotah Speedway on Friday, August 9th. The Mandan Dirt Series returned for the first time since June 14th. It was a big night for racing as it was Military Appreciation Night and First Responders Night. It was also the AFCO Race of Champions Qualifier race for the WISSOTA Street Stocks.




Paul Schuh and Braydee Hanson battled for the lead in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. They raced side by side for several laps until Hanson cleared Schuh for the top spot. Schuh then felli nto the clutches of third place Craig Kastner. With five laps to go, Kastner challenged Schuh for second while Dylan Sandberg lurked in fourth place. They raced three wide as Kastner and Sandberg split Schuh for second. When the checkered flag waved, Braydee Hanson crossed the finish line first. Craig Kastner finished second ahead of Dylan Sandberg and Paul Schuh while points leader, Stan Thompson, rounded out the top five.



Outside pole sitter, Karlie Hoerner, grabbed the lead from pole sitter, Seth Howe-Kellar in the Hobby Stock feature. Hoerner led early until defending track champion, John Gartner Jr slipped by on lap five, bringing points leader A.J. Davenport with him. Late race cautions erased Gartner’s large lead and regrouped the field. On the final restart of the race, Davenport, desperate for his first feature victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway, got loose off turn two trying to get around Gartner. John Gartner Jr went on to cruise to his fourth feature victory at Dacotah Speedway. A.J. Davenport had to settle for second place while Curt Michaelsohn held off Dylan Sandberg for third. Karlie Hoerner finished a career best of fifth place at Dacotah Speedway.



Bismarck’s Mike Dowling shuffled into the lead in the INEX Legend feature. Dowling got tight racing out of turn four which allowed points leader Drew Papke to slip by, bringing defending track champion, Donavin Wiest with him. Papke and Donavin battled for the lead until a series of mid-race cautions reset the field. On the final restart with six laps to go, Carson Dowling passed his father, Mike, for third place as Austin Wiest followed. With a hand full of laps remaining, Austin Wiest passed Carson Dowling for third. When the checkered flag waved, Drew Papke held off Donavin Wiest for his fourth feature victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway. Austin Wiest finished third ahead of Carson Dowling and Mike Dowling.



Jeremy Keller led early in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Keller had his hands full from the start with a speedy second place Zach Frederick. As Keller and Frederick battled for the lead, it allowed Shawn Volk to lurk close behind in third. They raced side by side for many laps until late race cautions reset the field. On the final restart, Keller pulled away as Volk battled Frederick for second. Frederick shut the door on Volk which allowed points leader John Weber an opportunity tochallenge for third place. However, a caution coming to the checkered flag would end the race early. Race officials declared Jeremy Keller the feature winner who would represent Dacotah Speedway at the WISSOTA 100 Race of Champions. Zach Frederick finished second while Shawn Volk held off John Weber for third place. Scott Gartner, who started 18th, rounded out the top five.



Rusty Kollman and Crist Pittenger battled for the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Kollman cleared Pittenger before an early race caution reset the field. On the restart, Travis Olheiser slipped by Kollman for the lead. Olheiser led early until defending track champion, Shawn Strand grabbed the lead on lap 10. Once Strand was out front, he started to pull away from the field. Olheiser, in a brand new race car, got loose out of turn two which allowed Tracy Domagala and John Corell to drive by. As the laps wound down, Corell and Domagala battled hard for second. With six laps to go, Corell slipped by Domagala but as the checkered flag waved, Corell’s good run suddenly went up in smoke as he lost a motor coming to the checkered flag.  Tracy Domagala and Travis Tooley took evasive action to finish second and third. John Corell coasted across the line in fourth place while Travis Olheier finished fifth. Shawn Strand went on to win his first Dacotah Speedway feature victory of the season.

Join us Friday, August 16th for the 11th Annual Drive to Survive!

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive