Dacotah Speedway June 5 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 6/7/2020 12:16:47 PM

After being forced to cancelled many of their early season races, fans could not have asked for better weather for the Dacotah Speedway Season Opener on Friday, June 5th. The season kicked off the speedway’s 30th Anniversary season since the track first opened in June of 1990.


The IMCA Sport Compact feature kicked off the night. After winning the last two season openers, Andy Reed started on the pole. A couple of complete restarts regrouped the field before Reed pulled away. Brayden Urlacher and Braydee Hanson battled hard for second place. Hanson cleared Urlacher and chased down Reed for the lead. They race side by side briefly before Hanson took the lead with five laps to go. Hanson pulled away as third place Urlacher fell into the clutches of Paul Schuh who started the feature last. As the checkered flag waved, Brayden Urlacher held off Paul Schuh at the finish line. Ken Sandberg rounded out the top five as Braydee Hanson went on to win the feature race over Andy Reed.


Chris Welk Jr and John Gartner Jr battled for the lead in the Hobby Stock feature. They raced side by side for several laps but using lapped traffic tohis advantage, Gartner slipped by to grab the lead on lap five. Cautions came early and often throughout the feature allowing A.J. Davenport to move up through the field and battle for the lead. With seven laps to go, Davenport dove low under Gartner on a restart and they race side by side for the lead.Contact between the two drivers gave Davenport the momentum to clear Gartner and take the lead with six laps to go. However, cautions continued to plague the feature and the drivers reached their time limit, cutting the feature two laps short. Defending track champion, A.J. Davenport, was declared the feature winner over John Gartner Jr. Brent Vetter finished third ahead of Dylan Sandberg and Curt Michaelsohn. 


Bismarck’s Austin Wiest started on the pole for the INEX Legends feature. As the green flag waved, multi-time track champion Donavin Wiest grabbed the lead early and immediately pulled away from the field. A caution at halfway erased Donavin Wiest’s large lead putting the fast cars of Austin Wiest and Ivan Sailer on his rear bumper. Late race cautions slowed the pace of the race and on the final restart with four laps to go, Donavin Wiest and Austin Wiest pulled away. The drivers raced hard for the win but when the checkered flag waved, Donavin Wiest held off Austin Wiest to capture the first feature victory of the season. Ivan Sailer settled for third place ahead of Bill Hultberg and Preston Martin. 


It was a three car battle for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Pole sitter Hunter Domagala held off Kyle Anderson and Matt Dosch to lead lap one. As Domagala started to distance himself from the field, Anderson and Dosch continued to battle for second. An early caution allowed Todd Carter to make ita three car battle for second. Using the high line to his advantage, Carter passed Dosch and Anderson to take the second position. A late race caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Domagala had his hands full with a speedy Carter. They raced side by side for several laps until Carter cleared Domagala for the lead with five laps to go. Domagala then fell into the clutches of third place Jonny Carter. Jonny Carter quickly passed Domagala for second and immediately reeled in the leader, Todd Carter. As they crossed the finish line, Todd Carter narrowly edged his nephew Jonny Carter at the finish line. After dominating much of the race, Hunter Domagala finished third while Kyle Anderson finished fourth ahead of Josh Olheiser. 


After a complete restart, Travis Olheiser and Shawn Strand raced side by side for the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. As they raced door to door, third place Jeremy Keller lurked in third place. An early race caution reset the field and on the restart Strand found speed along the high side. Strand passed Olheiser for the lead and quickly pulled away from the field. As the laps wound down, Jason Wolla passed Keller for third place and was quickly chased own Olheiser. However, Wolla ran out of time as Shawn Strand cruised to victory ahead of Travis Olheiser and Jason Wolla. John Corell finished fourth while Jeremy Keller rounded out the top five. 



Join us Friday, June 12th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Aaron's Sales and Leasing & RJR Management and Maintenance.  

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting racing action LIVE on www.dacotahspeedway.tv!

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive