Dakota Classic Mod Tour Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/16/2020 4:10:30 PM
The 31st Moritz Sport and Marine Dakota Classic Modified Tour wrapped up six straight days of racing at the Dacotah Speedway on Wednesday, July 15th. Drivers from all over the United States and Canada came to do battle for the Dakota Classic Modified Tour championship. 

Austin Daae and Elijah Zevenbergen led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Stock Car feature. They raced side by side for several laps until Daae cleared Zevenbergen for the lead. They continue to battle for the lead as they closed in on slower traffic. Using the lapped traffic to his advantage, Zevenbergen slipped by Daae for the lead just before a caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Daae tried hard to retake the lead but got tight, sending the car off corner two and bringing out another yellow flag. On the restart, Eric Mahlik challenged Zevenbergen for the lead but Zevenbergen was just too strong. Cruising to his fifth feature victory of the Dakota Classic Modified Tour, Elijah Zevenbergen clinched the IMCA Stock Car championship over Eric Mahlik. Dalton Flory finished third over Travis Ulmer while Adam Goff rounded out the top five. 

Tripp Gaylord drew the pole for the IMCA Modified feature. When the green flag waved, Gaylord quickly pulled away from second place Jake O'Neil. It didn't take long for Gaylord to quickly start catching slower traffic. As Gaylord continued to put race cars a lap down, the real battle was the battle for the championship between points leader Austin Arneson and Jason Wolla. Arneson, who made the feature based on passing points, quickly raced his way to the front and passed Wolla. As the laps wound down, Wolla continued to fade through the field. When the checkered flag waved, Tripp Gaylord won the biggest race of his racing career by leading all 30 laps to win the feature. Jake O'Neil had to settle for second place while Robert Hellebust finished third. Shawn Strand held off Alex Stanford for fourth place while Austin Arneson's sixth place finish was enough to capture the championship. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive