Championship Night Recap

Posted by D.S. 9/24/2020 2:50:43 PM


Pole sitter, Larry King, led the field to the IMCA Sport Compact field to the green flag in the feature. King led early but points leader, Ken Sandberg quickly drove his way to the front and it was a three car battle for the lead between King, Sandberg and Brayden Urlacher. Sandberg powered into the lead before a mid-race caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Sandberg pulled away as King started to fade through the field. Ken Sandberg picked up his fifth victory of the season to win his first track championship in the IMCA Sport Compacts. Defending track champion, Stan Thompson finished second ahead of Paul Schuh. Levi Ensz just narrowly edged Brayden Urlacher to finish fourth. 


Trouble struck early for points contender, John Gartner Jr in the Hobby Stock feature. As the field took the green flag, Gartner took his car to the pits with a flat tire. Meanwhile, up front Karlie Hoerner had her hands full with a speedy A.J. Davenport. While racing hard for the win, the drivers made contact sending Hoerner spinning the corner. Davenport was charged with the caution and sent to the tail of the field. On the restart, it was a three car battle for the lead between Hoerner, Derrick Appert and Daniel Kaseman. Late race cautions gave Kaseman the opportunity to slip into the lead and pull away. Daniel Kaseman picked up his second Dacotah Speedway victory of the season over a season best finish for Derrick Appert. Nathan Mundahl finished third while Curt Michaelsohn, who started 20th, finished fourth. Dylan Bitz rounded out the top five. Points leader, Chris Welk Jr, who finished seventh, won his first ever track championship.


Defending track champion, Drew Papke, took the lead from pole sitter Bryce Barnhardt in the INEX Legends feature. Papke led early until bad luck struck on lap five as Papke took his race car to the pits. Nate Keena inherited the lead but had his hands full with a speedy Tommie Quenzer. They raced side by side for several laps before points leader Donavin Wiest slipped by with nine laps remaining. However, Keena was all over Wiest’s rear bumper. Unfortunately, Nate Keena could not find a way around and had to set for second place. Tommie Quenzer finished third ahead of Austin Wiest and Brandon Anderson. Meanwhile, Donavin Wiest’s victory solidified his 10th Dacotah Speedway track championship. 


Royce Jawaski led from the pole in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Cautions came early and often throughout the feature, allowing Zach Frederick to grab the lead on an early race restart. Frederick then had his hands full from Kyle Anderson and Hunter Domagala. The points leader, who started ninth, split the drivers while racing for the lead and Domagala took the lead with 10 laps to go. Domagala pulled away as Anderson cleared Frederick for second. As the laps wound down, Anderson reeled in Domagala. As the checkered flag waved, Kyle Anderson threw his car in hard under Hunter Domagala but Hunter held on to win his fifth feature victory and clinch the championship. Zach Frederick finished third while Tracy Domagala finished ahead of fifth place John Gartner Jr. 


The final feature of the evening was also the closest points battle of the evening.

Crist Pittenger pulled away early in the IMCA Modified feature. Andrew Bargmann, John Corell and Quentin Kinzley battled for second before Kinzley shuffled into the second position. An early race caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Kinzley passed Pittenger for the lead. Pittenger started to fade through the field, losing positions to Shawn Strand, Jeremy Keller, Marlyn Seidler and Mark Dahl. Strand reeled in Kinzley for the lead and took the lead with a handful of laps remaining. While racing for fourth, Seidler lost an engine with four laps remaining. On the final restart, Keller and Kinzley battled for second before Keller cleared the position and reeled in Strand. As the white flag waved, they were side by side for lead. Diving low under Strand in three and four, Jeremy Keller edged Shawn Strand for the feature victory. Quentin Kinzley finished third ahead Mark Dahl as John Corell finished fifth. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive