Dacotah Speedway Recap - May 7th

Posted by Becca Pelkey 5/8/2021 8:08:48 PM

Fans and drivers braved a chilly evening of exciting racing at Dacotah Speedway on Friday, May 7th. Despite less than ideal weather, 102 cars checked in to do battle on the track and fans packed the grandstands. 


Tanner Hofer led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. It was a four car battle for the lead between Hofer, Alex Thompson, Cole Hanshew and Ken Sandberg. Defending track champion, Sandberg muscled by to take the lead. Sandberg started to pull away from second place Stan Thompson while Alex Thompson battled against Hanshew for third. Thompson and Hanshew raced side by side for several laps before Hanshew grabbed the position. As the laps wound down, fifth place Aiden Wagner had his hands full with a speedy Hofer. When the checkered flag waved, Aiden Wagner held off Tanner Hofer for fifth. Alex Thompson finished fourth behind Cole Hanshew. Stan Thompson settled for second behind feature winner, Ken Sandberg. The victory was Sandberg’s 7th victory in a row at Dacotah Speedway. 


Pole sitter Eugene Halverson led early in the Hobby Stock feature. He led the first two laps before getting off the backstretch and falling out of the top 10. Chris Welk inherited the lead but ran into trouble early when fuel issues ended his night. Jeremy Engelhardt, who started ninth, drove to the front and took the lead with five laps to go. Late race cautions regrouped the field but on the final restart with three laps to go, Engelhardt started to pull away. Jeremy Engelhardt went on to win his first hobby stock feature since 2017 at Dacotah Speedway. A.J. Davenport held off Curt Michaelsohn for second while Dylan Sandberg finished fourth. Josh Roehrich rounded out the top five. 


Nate Keena and Brandon Anderson battled for the lead in the INEX Legends feature. Defending track champion, Donavin Wiest lurked in third while the leaders raced side by side. It soon turned into a three car battle before Donavin Wiest shuffled into the lead with 10 laps to go. Cautions, and even a red flag, plagued the end of the race. However, on the final restart of the night with four laps to go, Nate Keena found extra speed along the highside of the track. While Wiest hugged the guardrail, Keena’s highline momentum gave him the extra speed to pull alongside Wiest. When the checkered flag waved, it was almost too close to call as the drivers crossed the line at nearly the same time. However, officials declared Donavin Wiest the winner by mere inches over Nate Keena. Drew Papke made a late race pass to finish third ahead of Austin Wiest while Brandon Anderson finished fifth. 


Defending track champion, Hunter Domagala, started on the pole for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. When the green flag waved, Domagala quickly pulled away from the field. It quickly became a race for second place as Tracy Domagala tried to hold off John Feist. Lisbon’s Jonny Carter, who started seventh, quickly raced his way to the front and chased down second place Tracy Domagala. With three laps to go, they were side by side for second. When the checkered flag waved, Jonny Carter made a late race pass to finish second ahead of Tracy Domagala. Zach Frederick finished fourth ahead of Matt Dosch while Hunter Domagala led all 20 laps to win and dominate the feature.


One week after his vicious roll over, veteran Marlyn Seidler led the IMCA Modified feature. Seidler pulled away early before an early caution erased his large lead over second place Shawn Strand. On the restart, Strand flew by on the highside, leaving Seidler to fend off third place Quentin Kinzley. It didn’t take long for the leaders to start catching lapped traffic. Using the slower cars to his advantage, Kinzley slipped by Seidler for second. A late race caution would erase Strand’s large lead over the field. On the final restart of the race, Jeremy Keller slipped by Seidler for third as Mark Dahl had his hands full with a speedy Spencer Wilson. Coming to the checkered flag, Spencer Wilson made a last lap pass over Mark Dahl to finish fifth. Marlyn Seidler finished fourth behind third place Jeremy Keller. For the second week in a row, Quentin Kinzley finished second while Shawn Strand picked up the victory. 

Join us Friday, May 14th for the Mandan Dirt Series.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive