Dacotah Speedway May 28th Recap

Posted by Becca Pelkey 5/29/2021 10:09:05 AM

Despite less than desirable weather, over 100 cars checked into Dacotah Speedway on Friday, May 28th. Fans braved the cold and windy weather but were not disappointed with the hot racing action on the track. 


After two complete restarts in the IMCA Sport Compact feature, it was a three wide battle for the lead between Tanner Hofer, Stan Thompson and Ken Sandberg. Points leader, Sandberg split Hofer and Thompson and powered into the lead. Stan Thompson stayed close with Sandberg as Hofer had his hands full with fourth place Alex Thompson. They briefly raced side by side until Alex Thompson cleared Hofer for third. Minot’s Aiden Wagner reeled in Hofer and with three laps to go, Wagner slipped by to take fourth. Hofer rallied back to challenge for position but when the checkered flag waved, Aiden Wagner narrowly edged Tanner Hofer for fourth. Alex Thompson finished third as Ken Sandberg held off Stan Thompson for his 10th straight feature victory. 


Chris Welk Jr grabbed the early lead in the Hobby Stock feature. Welk’s lead was short lived as Bill Hultberg took the lead on lap two. Welk battled back to challenge Hultberg for the lead before Hultberg was forced to pull into the pits with engine problems. A red flag halted the race on lap nine when Eugene Halverson rolled in turn 1. Thankfully Halvorson was ok but his night ended early. On the restart, Derrick Appert passed Welk, bringing Jeremy Engelhardt with him.

Engelhardt was all over Appert’s rear bumper when they took the white flag. Racing into corners three and four, Jeremy Engelhardt dove low under the leader but Derrick Appert held on to win his second career feature victory. Chris Welk finished third ahead of Mike Appert and Keith McCleary. 


Washburn’s Bryce Barnhardt took the lead from pole sitter Gunnar Pfaff in the INEX Legends feature. Alex Kukowski passed Barnhardt for the lead on lap three and brought Drew Papke with him. Papke quickly passed Kukowski for the lead and led for several laps before he drastically slowed on the backstretch, handing the lead over to Preston Martin. A caution with seven laps to go regrouped the field and on the restart it was a three car battle for the lead between Martin, Kukowski and Donavin Wiest. The defending track champion, Wiest shuffled into the lead but had his hands full with Kukowski. With two laps to go, Alex Kukowski passed Donavin Wiest for the lead and took home the victory. Preston Martin edged Drew Papke by inches for third place as Austin Wiest rounded out the top five. 


Outside pole sitter Barrett Berg passed pole sitter Jeremy Engelhardt for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Engelhardt retook the lead as Nathan Messmer challenged Berg for second. Hunter Domagala made it a three car race for second but using the high line around the track, Domagala shuffled into second and quickly reeled in Engelhardt. On lap eight, Domagala took the lead leaving Engelhardt to fend off Messmer for second. As Domagala pulled away, Engelhardt and Messmer battled for second as Matt Dosch lurked in fourth. Messmer passed Engelhardt for second before a late race caution reset the field. On the final restart, Hunter Domagala pulled away to win his third feature victory of the season. Nathan Messmer finished second while Zach Frederick edged Jeremy Engelhardt for third. Matt Dosch grabbed his fourth top five finish in four feature starts at Dacotah Speedway. 


Scott Gartner and Travis Tooley battled for the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Tooley grabbed the lead before an early race caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Gartner lost positions to Spencer Wilson, Shawn Strand, Casey Arneson and Marlyn Seidler. As Travis Tooley started to pull away, Jeremy Keller cracked the top five and quickly passed Arneson, Strand and Wilson. Keller reeled in Tooley and took the lead with 10 laps to go. A couple of late race cautions erased Keller’s large lead and put a speedy Arneson on his rear bumper. But on the final restart, Arneson struggled to get around Keller. When the checkered flag waved, Jeremy Keller held off Casey Arneson for the feature win. Travis Tooley, who led most of the race, settled for third place while Marlyn Seidler finished fourth ahead of Crist Pittenger. 

The Mandan Dirt Series returns next Friday, June 4th & 5th for the Iron Man 100 weekend presented by Jerome Distributing and Coors Light!

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting racing action LIVE on www.dacotahspeedway.tv!

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive