Dacotah Speedway Recap - July 23rd

Posted by Becca Pelkey 7/30/2021 2:20:13 PM

Nicholas Hoffman led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. Stan Thompson quickly grabbed the lead as Hoffman raced four wide with Alex Thompson, Aiden Wagner and Ken Sandberg. Running out of race track, Sandberg got loose and nearly spun in corner two. Bad luck would follow the points leader as Sandberg’s car suddenly spun on the backstretch with four laps to go. On the restart, Sandberg would be charged with jumping the restart and his night came to an end as he was sent to the pits for causing two cautions. On the final restart, Stan Thompson pulled away from his son, Alex, to win his second feature victory of the season. Tanner Hofer finished a season best of third place while Corey Bolle held off Nicholas Hoffman for fourth place. 

Outside pole sitter, Bill Hultberg quickly grabbed the lead and pulled away from the field in the Hobby Stock feature. As Hultberg’s lead continued to grow, it was a battle for second between Terry Davenport, Braydee Hanson, Karlie Hoerner and John Gartner Jr. Points leader, Jeremy Engelhardt slowly worked his way to the front, battling with Hoerner for fourth. A late race caution with three to go changed everything as it erased Hultberg’s large lead over the field. On the restart, it was a thrilling four car battle for the win between Hultberg, Engelhardt, Hanson and Gartner. Engelhardt shuffled into the lead and led the final three laps to win. Bill Hultberg, despite leading much of the race, held off Chris Welk Jr for second. Braydee Hanson finished fourth while Mike Appert rounded out the top five. 

In the INEX Legends feature, Brandon Anderson wasted no time taking the lead. Anderson pulled away as Noah Madler had his hands full with Preston Martin and Drew Papke. A series of mid-race cautions allowed Martin and Papke the opportunity to battle Anderson for the lead. They briefly raced three wide until Anderson lifted to avoid contact. Martin and Papke continued to race door to door for the lead until a late race caution regrouped the field. On the final restart, Papke pulled away and went on to win his fifth feature victory of the season. Austin Wiest made a late race charge to the front to finish second ahead of Donavin Wiest. Preston Martin slipped back to fourth while Brandon Anderson finished fifth. 


Patrick Perlichek and Hunter Domagala started on the front row in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. After breaking a motor during the racing break, Domagala quickly grabbed the lead as Perlichek had his hands full with Zach Frederick. Frederick grabbed the second position and quickly reeled in Domagala. They raced side by side for the lead for several laps until mechanical failure ended Frederick’s night early. As the laps wound down, second place Perlichek started closing in on Domagala. However, Patrick Perlichek ran out of time as Hunter Domagala picked up the feature victory. Matt Dosch finished third while Jeremy Engelhardt just narrowly edged Tanner Dosch at the line for fourth. 

Travis Tooley led early after a complete restart in the IMCA Modified feature. Shawn Strand quickly passed Scott Gartner for second, bringing Jeremy Keller with him. It soon became a three car battle for the lead until a caution on lap nine regrouped the field. On the restart, Strand grabbed the lead before yet another caution slowed the pace of the race. On the final restart of the night, Strand and Keller raced side by side until Keller cleared the position. Keller pulled away in the final laps as Strand fell into the clutches of Quentin Kinzley. They battled hard for second allowing Marlyn Seidler, who was sent tail early in the race, to close in late in the race. When the checkered flag waved, Jeremy Keller finished first for the fifth time this season. Shawn Strand held off Marlyn Seidler for second while Quentin Kinzley finished fourth. Spencer Wilson rounded out the top five. 

Join us for the North Dakota Governors Cup Auto Races presented by Busch Light distributed by McQuade Distributing on Friday, July 30th & Saturday, July 31st!

Grandstands open at 3:00pm. Green flag waves at 5:00pm. Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting racing action LIVE on www.dacotahspeedway.tv!

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive