Championship Night Recap - August 27

Posted by Becca Pelkey 8/30/2021 10:47:08 AM


After a long season, the points battle came down to Ken Sandberg and Stan Thompson who came into Championship Night tied. Bad luck struck Ken Sandberg in his heat race when he lost a right rear tire which ended his night early. When the green flag waved for the IMCA Sport Compact feature, Stan Thompson powered into the lead as Paul Schuh and Alex Thompson battled for second. As the laps wound down, they raced side by side for second. However, when the checkered flag waved Stan Thompson led all 12 laps to win the feature and wrap up the track championship. Alex Thompson finished second while Paul Schuh crossed the finish line third. Nicholas Hoffman finished a season best of fourth while Corey Bolle rounded out the top five. 


Seth Howe-Kellar led the field to the green flag in the Hobby Stock feature. Cautions came early and often which allowed John Gartner Jr and Dylan Sandberg an opportunity to battle for the lead. As they raced three wide, Bill Hultberg wasted no time racing to the front as he quickly cracked the top five after starting 21st. Gartner took the lead, bringing Sandberg with him leaving Howe-Kellar to fend off Hultberg for third. Hultberg slipped by Howe-Kellar to take third before a late race caution regrouped the field. On the final restart, Gartner and Sandberg raced side by side for the lead. Sandberg motored into the lead as Hultberg challenged Gartner Jr for second. Throwing it in hard, Hultberg gave it all as he dove low under Sandberg. However, as they crossed the finish line for the final time, Dylan Sandberg held off Bill Hultberg for the feature win. Derrick Appert finished third while Jeremy Engelhardt made a last lap pass to finish fourth ahead of John Gartner Jr. Just by starting the feature, Engelhardt won the track championship. 


Nate Keena and Preston Martin battled for the lead in the INEX Legends feature. Brandon Anderson lurked in third as Drew Papke and Austin Wiest reeled in the leaders. It soon became a three wide battle for second between Martin, Wiest and Papke until a lap race caution reset the field. On the final restart, Wiest shuffled into the lead as Papke and Donavin Wiest raced door to door for second place. Using the highline around the speedway, Papke used the momentum to power into the lead. Drew Papke led the final handful of laps to win his sixth feature victory to capture his second track championship. Austin Wiest had to settle for second ahead of Donavin Wiest. Preston Martin finished fourth while Nate Keena finished fifth.


After a complete restart, John Feist led early in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Feist quickly had his hands full with Zach Frederick and Jason Berg. They raced three wide for the lead allowing points leader Hunter Domagala to quickly close in on the leaders. Domagala, using the low line around the track, shuffled into the lead. Domagala pulled away as Frederick cleared the second position. Jason Meidinger grabbed the third position but as the laps wound down, fourth place, Matt Dosch, started to reel in Meidinger. When the checkered flag waved, Hunter Domagala won the feature to win back-to-back track championships. Zach Frederick finished a distant second. Matt Dosch just narrowly edged Jason Meidinger for third place while John Feist rounded out the top five. 


In the final feature of the regular season, Marcus Tomlinson started on the pole for the IMCA Modified feature. Tomlinson led early as Travis Tooley and Jeremy Keller battled for second. As they raced door to door, it allowed Shawn Strand to make it a three car battle. Using the highline, Strand motored into the second position and started reeling in Tomlinson. A series of mid-race cautions regrouped in the field. On the restarts, it was an exciting three wide battle for the lead between Strand, Zach Frederick and Keller. Strand shuffled into the lead and started to pull away from the field. But a late race caution erased Strand’s lead and on the final restart, Quentin Kinzley blew by Marlyn Seidler for third. Kinzley’s momentum allowed him to motor by Keller and challenged Strand for the win. Coming to the checkered flag, Shawn Strand held off Quentin Kinzley for the win. Marlyn Seidler finished third ahead of Jeremy Keller as Mark Dahl rounded out the top five. Kinzley’s late race charge to the front allowed him to hold onto the points lead and win his first track championship over Keller. 

Join us for Oktoberfest on Friday, October 1st & Saturday, October 2nd presented by Laughing Sun Brewery, Trans Trash and Weisz and Sons as we wrap up the racing season at Dacotah Speedway.

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting racing action LIVE on!

For more information, visit us at or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive