Dacotah Speedway Recap - June 24

Posted by Becca Pelkey 6/25/2022 1:41:57 PM

On a hot and muggy day, weather was a factor going into the evening. However, as area tracks were forced to cancel to due to severe weather, Dacotah Speedway lucked out as all storms missed the track on Friday, June 24th. 


Defending track champion, Stan Thompson, took the lead early in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As Thompson pulled away, the battle for second was heating up between second place Alex Thompson and points leader, Ken Sandberg. With four laps to go in the feature. Sandberg passed Alex for second and quickly caught the leader, Stan. They raced three wide for the lead but Sandberg split the father-son duo to take the lead with two laps to go. Ken Sandberg held on to win the feature victory over Stan Thompson and Alex Thompson. Paul Schuh finished fourth while Couy Snyder rounded out the top five. 


Outside pole sitter, Mike Appert quickly grabbed the lead from pole sitter, Jeremy Herr, in the Hobby Stock feature. A quick lap one caution regrouped the field and on the restart, John Gartner Jr raced side by side with Appert for the lead. Appert, struggling with handling issues, got off the track in corner two, handing the lead to Gartner. Appert then got loose the following lap, allowing Josh Roehrich to slip by for second. Roehrich, finding speed along the highside, reeled in Gartner. They raced side by side for several laps until Roehrich closed the door and pulled away. After coming so close a few weeks prior, Josh Roehrich led the final six laps to win the feature. John Gartner, after leading much of the race, settled for second. Mike Appert held on to finish third ahead of Derrick Appert and Bill Hultberg. 


It was a three car battle for the lead in the INEX Legends feature between Casey Martin, Dauntae Martin and Donavin Wiest. Contact between the Martin brothers allowed Donavin Wiest to slip into the lead. Preston Martin, who started twelfth, was the only driver to try the highside of the track and quickly found speed. Preston cracked the top five on lap seven and quickly passed Austin Wiest for fourth, Noah Madler for third, Drew Papke for second and took the lead on lap nine. Preston started to distance himself from the field but a caution erased his lead on the field. On the restart, Austin and Donavin battled for second but the highside was the fast side and Austin pulled away from Donavin and was all over Preston’s rear bumper. Austin Wiest ran out of time as the checkered flag waved first for Preston Martin. Donavin Wiest finished third ahead of A.J. Davenport and Dauntae Martin. 


After a complete restart in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature, Kasey Ussatis took the lead when the green flag waved. Matt Dosch and Tracy Domagala raced hard for second which allowed Hunter Domagala to make it a three car battle. As they raced door to door for position, Zach Frederick now made it a four car battle. Hunter shuffled into the second position and wasted no time reeling in Ussatis. Hunter passed Ussatis on lap nine and motored away. Ussatis then fell into the clutches of Frederick. With only a few laps remaining, Frederick passed Ussatis for second, bringing Tracy with him. When the checkered flag waved, Kasey Ussatis held off Geoff Hellman for the fourth position. Tracy Domagala finished third while Zach Frederick finished a distant second place behind feature winner, Hunter Domagala. 


In the final feature of the evening, outside pole sitter, Logan Schmitz, took the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Schmitz, a rookie in this racing division, was feeling pressure from second place, Drew Christianson. An early race caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Christianson passed Schmitz for the lead, bringing points leader Jeremy Keller with him. Keller, who started tenth, was all over Christianson’s rear bumper. Using the high line around the track, Keller took the lead on lap 11 and quickly pulled away from the field. However, lapped traffic became an issue as Keller got into the rear end of a slower car, causing him to lose his momentum and receive minor front end damage. Christianson, pounced at the opportunity to retake the lead and pull away. Keller then fell into the clutches of third place Quentin Kinzley. They briefly raced side by side until Keller shut the door on Kinzley. Despite being the fastest car, Jeremy Keller had to settle for second place ahead of defending track champion, Quentin Kinzley. Mark Dahl finished fourth while Logan Schmitz had a career best of fifth place. Drew Christianson, led the final six laps to win his first modified victory since 2017 at the Nodak Speedway.

Join us Friday, July 8th for the Night of the Legends - A Divisional Battle plus the Mandan Dirt Series! 

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive