Dakota Classic Modified Tour Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/13/2018 7:26:33 PM

Marriott Clinches Third Straight Championship

The Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Tour wrapped up in Mandan at Dacotah Speedway on Thursday, July 12th. Every point and every position mattered as Hunter Marriott had a slim seven point lead over RC Whitwell. When the green flag waved, pole sitter Jason Wolla led the field into corner one. Riding the high line around the track, Ricky Thornton Jr quickly moved into the second and started to reel in Wolla. As Wolla and Thornton started battling for the lead, third place Hunter Marriott caught them in a hurry. Using lapped traffic to his advantage, Thornton took the lead on lap 14. Despite racing in thick lapped traffic, Thornton, Wolla and Marriott raced three wide for the win. Hugging the guardrail, Wolla retook the lead with nine laps to go. Thornton was close behind in second but had his hands full with a fast Hunter Marriott. With two laps to go, Marriott grabbed the second position and gave it all he had for Wolla. Unfortunately, Hunter Marriott came up short to feature winner Jason Wolla. Ricky Thornton Jr finished third as Tim Ward made a late race pass to take fourth place from RC Whitwell. Marriott’s second place finish was enough to take home his third straight Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Modified Championship. Curt Lund of Redwood Falls, MN, held off Elijah Zevenbergen to win the IMCA Stock Car feature. Zevenbergen narrowly won his fourth straight DCMT championship over Joe Flory.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive