North Dakota Governors Cup Auto Races Night 2 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 7/29/2018 7:27:05 PM
Drivers and fans couldn't have asked for better weather for Championship Night of the North Dakota Governors Cup Auto Races. Night 1 produced some amazing, side by side racing in each and every car class that left fans wanting more. Night 2 didn't disappoint as there was even more thrilling racing action. 

Howe-Kellar Clinches Gov Cup Championship with Victory

Andy Reed grabbed the lead from pole sitter Craig Kastner in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As Reed led the field down the backstretch, Kastner and points leader Seth Howe-Kellar raced for second. Howe-Kellar quickly cleared Kastner for second and challenged Reed for the lead. By lap three, Howe-Kellar took over the top position but Reed held strong in second. As the laps wound down, Reed started to reel in Howe-Kellar. With three laps to go, Kastner started to close in on the leaders but ran out of time. In his first full-time year in the IMCA Sport Compacts, Seth Howe-Kellar drove to victory lane for the third time this season and clinched the North Dakota Governor's Cup Championship. Andy Reed finished second ahead of Craig Kastner. Ken Sandberg crossed the finish line fourth while James Gilbert finished fifth in his Dacotah Speedway debut.

Papke Denies Wiest the Gov Cup Sweep
Pole sitter Ivan Sailer led from the top of the strating grid in the INEX Legends feature. Behind him, defending Governors Cup Champion Donavin Wiest and Austin Wiest raced for second while Drew Papke lurked in fourth. Papke slipped by Donavin and Austin and powered into the lead on lap two. While Papke pulled away, Sailer, Donavin Wiest and Andrew Jochim battled for third. Donavin Wiest shuffled into second position and started to reel in Papke while Jochim, Sailer, Austin Wiest battled for third. Drew Papke held off Donavin Wiest to pick up his second feature victory of the season. Andrew Jochin held on to finish third ahead of Ivan Sailer and Austin Wiest. Donavin Wiest's second place finish was enough to take home the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship. 

Vetter Breaks Through Into in Victory Lane
After a complete restart in the Hobby Stock feature, Chad Hausauer took the lead from pole sitter Dylan Sandberg when the green flag waved. Sandberg had his hands full with A.J. Davenport for second. Davenport cleared Sandberg and started to close in on the leader. A series of early cautions regrouped the field and on the restart, Hausauer tried to block Davenport, allowing Brent Vetter to slip into the lead. It was a three car battle for second between Hausauer, Davenport and Travis Edinger. A late race caution reset the field once more and on the restart, Vetter and Davenport battled for the win. They flip flopped positions several times before Vetter cleared him with one lap to go. Davenport dove low in corners three and four but he came up short to feature winner and back-to-back Governors Cup Champion, Brent Vetter. A.J. Davenport had to settle for second as Dylan Sandberg narrowly held off Chad Hausauer for third. Josh Roehrich rounded out the top five. The victory snapped a string of six second place finishes in a row at Dacotah Speedway for Vetter.

Frederick Finds Redemption with Gov Cup Victory
Jonny Carter and Zach Frederick started on the front row for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Carter and Frederick battled for the lead before an early caution reset the field. On the restart, Carter and Billie Christ raced for second while Geoff Hellman lurked in fourth. Using the high line around the track, Carter overdrove turns three and four, dropping him out of the top five. Hellman started to reel in second place Christ as the leaders started to catch lapped traffic. After getting caught up in a huge wreck on Night 1 of the North Dakota Governors Cup, Zach Frederick redeemed himself as he led all 20 laps to win his fifth feature victory of the season at Dacotah Speedway. Billie Christ finished a season best of second place while Jonny Carter made a late race comeback to finish third ahead of Geoff Hellman. Matt Dosch crossed the finish line in fifth place. Geoff Hellman's consistency earned him his first North Dakota Governors Cup Championship. 

Taylor Tears Through the Field for Dacotah Speedway Victory
Pole sitter, Mark Dahl led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Modified feature. As Dahl started to pull away from the field, an early caution regrouped the field. On the restart, second place Travis Peery got too high off the track and fell out of the top 10. Dan Aune, now running in second, had his hands full with a speedy Jeremy Keller. Caution would once again regroup the field and on the restart, Keller challenged Dahl for the lead. They raced side by side for several laps until Keller took the top spot with 10 laps to go. A late race caution set up a eight lap shootout for the win. On the restart, Dylan Goplen dove low under Dahl for second. As they raced, it allowed Jeff Taylor to fly by on the high side of the track to take second place. Taylor found speed along the high side and quickly caught and passed Keller for the lead. Jeff Taylor pulled away and went on to win the feature victory. Jeremy Keller had to settle for second as Dylan Goplen made a late race pass to finish third ahead of Mark Dahl. Dan Aune finished a season best of fifth place. Mark Dahl's fourth place finish was enough to capture the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship over Jeremy Keller. 

Victory Solidifies Gov Cup Championship for Nygaard
East Grand Fork, Minnesota's Bob Martin led from the pole in the Sprint Car feature. Caution halted the race early as Mark Dobmeier's car flipped down the front stretch in a vicious tumble. Thankfully Dobmeier was okay but his chance to win the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship was cut short. When the race resumed, Zach Wilde grabbed the lead but Martin rallied back to retake the lead the following lap. Wilde fell into the clutches of Jade Hastings and they raced for second before Wade Nygaard made it a three car battle. They raced three wide before Hastings got pushed off the track, dropping to the fourth position. Nygaard quickly passed Wilde and reeled in Martin. They briefly raced side by side before Nygaard grabbed the lead on lap 12. Despite racing in heavy lapped traffic, Martin was not able to catch Nygaard. Wade Nygaard stormed to victory lane to win the feature and the North Dakota Governors Cup Championship. Bob Martin finished second while Jade Hastings made a last lap pass to finish third ahead of Jordan Adams. Nick Omdahl rounded out the top five. 

Join us Friday, August 10th for the return of the Mandan Dirt Series.

Grandstands open at 6:00pm and green flag waves at 7:00pm. Tickets are available at the gate or at select Cenex locations in Bismarck, Mandan and Lincoln. 

For more information, visit us at or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

For Dacotah Speedway updates and instant information, text the word "SPEEDWAY" to 20691.

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.
Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive