Dacotah Speedway May 3rd Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 5/5/2019 5:13:31 PM
Thompson Returns to Dacotah Speedway Victory Lane
Josiah Day and Alex Thompson led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As the field took the green flag, it was a battle between Stan Thompson and rookie Braydee Hanson. They raced side by side for the lead until Thompson cleared Hanson on lap two. As the laps wound down, Hanson started to close back in on leader Thompson. When the white flag waved, Hanson dove low under Thompson but Thompson had a run on the high side. As the checkered flag waved, Stan Thompson held off rookie Braydee Hanson for his first Dacotah Speedway victory since 2011. Ken Sandberg finished third ahead of Craig Kastner and Andy Reed.


Michaelsohn Holds On for Dacotah Speedway Victory
Wishek’s Curt Michaelsohn grabbed the lead from pole sitter Derrick Appert in the Hobby Stock feature. As Michaelsohn pulled away from the field, Terry Davenport, John Gartner Jr and Appert battled for second. Gartner shuffled into second place before a mid-race caution regrouped the field. On the restart, Gartner challenged Michaelsohn for the lead.  Gartner dove low under Michaelsohn but Michaelsohn held on with only a few laps to go. As Michaelsohn started to catch lapped traffic, John Gartner threw it into corners three and four for the final time but Curt Michaelsohn held on to win the feature victory. Jamestown’s Dylan Steele finished third while Dylan Sandberg held off Derrick Appert for fourth.
After the conclusion of the Hobby Stockfeature, second place John Gartner Jr was disqualified for illegal shocks.


Jochim Goes Back-to-Back at Dacotah Speedway
Bismarck natives Preston Martin and Austin Weist started on the front row for the INEX Legends feature. Wiest grabbed the lead early as Ivan Sailer and Mike Dowling battled for second. As they raced hard, it allowed Andrew Jochim, who started last, to quickly catch them. Dowling started to fade through the field, losing positions to Sailer, Jochim, Drew Papke and Donavin Wiest. Driving off turn four, Austin Wiest bobbled, allowing Sailer to pull along side. As they raced side by side, Jochim made it a three car battle for the lead. Using the bottom line to his advantage, Jochim slipped by Austin Wiest for the lead with eight laps to go. Austin Wiest then fell into the clutches of Papke and Donavin Wiest. Papke quickly passed Austin Wiest and closed in on leader Jochim. Finding speed along the high side, Papke challenged for the win. However, Andrew Jochim found a burst of speed at the end went onto win back-to-back victories at Dacotah Speedway. Drew Papke finished second ahead of Donavin Wiest and Austin Weist. Ivan Sailer held on to finish fifth.


Ussatis Wins First Dacotah Speedway Feature
Kasey Ussatis and Matt Dosch raced side by side for the lead in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. As they raced door to door, Matt Brendel lurked in third. Ussatis finally cleared Dosch for the lead as Brendel, Shawn Volk and John Feist raced three wide for third. Feist shuffled into third as Brendel and Volk continued battled for fourth. John Weber, who started eighth, quickly caught and passed Volk and then Brendel for fourth. Weber continued to march to the front as he reeled in Feist for third. They raced side by side for third as the white flag waved. Racing into turn one, Weber cleared Feist but Feist rallied back. When the checkered flag waved, John Weber beat John Feist to the line to finish third. Shawn Volk held off Royce Jawaski for fifth while Casey Ussatis won in dominating fashion over Matt Dosch. The victory was Ussatis’s first Dacotah Speedway victory.


Wolla Dominates at Dacotah Speedway
When the green flag waved, Jason Wolla grabbed the lead from Jordan Huettl in the IMCA Modified feature. Wolla quickly pulled away as Huettl started to fade, losing positions to Mark Dahl, Shawn Strand, Quentin Kinzley and Tyler Peterson. Peterson had pressure from behind has Casey Arneson quickly caught and passed Peterson for fifth. Strand and Dahl briefly raced side by side for second until Strand slipped by on lap eight. Dahl then fell into the clutches of Marlyn Seidler. As Wolla started lapping cars, lapped traffic allowed Seidler to catch Strand for second. A caution with two laps to go erased Wolla’s large lead over Strand and Seidler. On the Green-White-Checkered restart, Wolla pulled away once more as Casey Arneson passed Strand and Seidler. As the checkered flag waved, Jason Wolla led all 25 laps to win the IMCA Modified feature. Casey Arneson, who started 11th, finished second ahead of Shawn Strand. Jeremy Keller made a late race pass to finish fourth ahead of Marlyn Seidler.

Join us Friday, May 10th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Starion Bank.  

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

For Dacotah Speedway updates and instant information, text the word "SPEEDWAY" to 20691.

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan.

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive