Dacotah Speedway June 14 Recap

Posted by Becca Rattei 6/15/2019 8:16:57 PM
With impending weather in the forecast, racing officials did everything they could to get the entire racing program in before the weather hit on Friday, June 14th. 

Pole sitter Alex Thompson led the field to the green flag in the IMCA Sport Compact feature. As Thompson started to pull away from the field, Ken Sandberg and Craig Kastner raced hard for second. When Kastner got too high off turn two, it allowed Paul Schuh to slip by and challenge Sandberg for second. With four laps to go, Schuh overtook Sandberg for second as Sandberg started to fall into the clutches of Kastner. Contact between to the drivers allowed Stan Thompson to drive by and grab third place. Thompson quickly chased down Schuh for second and as the checkered flag waved, Stan Thompson edged Paul Schuh for second place. Craig Kastner finished fourth while Braydee Hanson made a late race pass on Ken Sandberg for fifth. Alex Thompson dominated and led all 12 laps to win his first career IMCA Sport Compact feature of his racing career.


Dickinson’s Josh Allocco started on the pole for the Hobby Stock feature.Outside pole sitter, Curt Michaelsohn, quickly grabbed the lead and pulled away as Allocco, Nathan Messer and John Gartner Jr raced for second. Caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Michaelsohn pulled away once again while Messer and Gartner battled for second. A second caution with five laps to erased Michaelsohn’s large lead. Contact among the leaders allowed Gartner to shuffled into the lead when the race resumed but another caution would set up a green-white-checkered finish. On the final restart of the race, Dylan Sandberg passed Michaelsohn, bringing Terry Davenport with him. When the checkered flag waved, Curt Michaelsohn held off Nathan Messer to finish fourth. Terry Davenport finished third behind second place Dylan Sandberg. John Gartner Jr led the final five laps to win his third feature victory in a row.


Dacotah Speedway hosted Night 2 of the North Dakota Legends Tour. Mike Dowling and Andrew Jochim started on the front row when the green flag waved. Jochim quickly grabbed the lead as Dowling tried to hold off Ivan Sailer, Donavin Wiest, Drew Papke and Preston Martin. As the laps wound down, Dowling faded through the field. A mid-race caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Jochim had his hands full with Wiest and Papke. It was a three car battle for the lead before Papke found a burst of speed along the high line to take the lead away with seven laps to go. Jochim and Wiest stayed tight on Papke’s rear bumper but could not find a way around the Bismarck native. Drew Papke held onto win his third race in a row at Dacotah Speedway and take home the Night 2 victory of the North Dakota Legends Tour. Andrew Jochim, who led much of the race, settled for second ahead of Donavin Wiest. Preston Martin finished fourth while Austin Wiest finish fifth.


Jason Berg took the lead from pole sitter Scott Olson in the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. Behind the leader, it was a four car battle for second between, Scott Olson, Shawn Volk, Matt Brendel and John Weber. Weber, who started eighth,quickly picked off each driver to grab second place and start reeling in the leader, Berg. They briefly battled for the lead until Weber completed the pass on lap eight. A lap later, Berg got too high off turn four, allowing Brendel, Jeremy Engelhardt and Brad Kadrmas to slip by. While Weber pulled away from the field, Brendel and Engelhardt had a fierce battle for second. In the closing laps, the battle for fifth was picking up between Hunter Domagala, Volk and Olson. However, when the checkered flag waved, Hunter Domagala crossed the finish line in fifth place. Brad Kadrmas finished fourth while Matt Brendel edged Jeremy Engelhardt at the line for second. John Weber went on to win his first feature victory at Dacotah Speedway since 2016.
*After the conclusion of the WISSOTA Street Stock feature, Brad Kadrmas and Hunter Domagala were disqualified for having wheel wells not meeting regulation height.


With impending weather on the horizon, track officials did their best to get the entire IMCA Modified feature in before the rain hit. When the green flag waved, Andrew Bargmann and Rusty Corneliusen battled for the lead. They raced side by side for several laps until Bargmann cleared the position on lap three. An early caution regrouped the field and on the restart, Marcus Tomlinson challenged Bargmann for the top spot. Tomlinson motored by and grabbed the lead on lap 10. Bargmann then fell into the clutches of points leader Tom Berry Jr. Berry quickly passed Bargmann and started to reel in Tomlinson for the lead. They raced side by side for the lead until Berry took over the top spot with seven laps to go. Unfortunately, a caution with came out which reverted the field to the last completed lap. As lightning flashed across the sky, track officials called the race due to weather for the safety of fans, drivers and crews. Scoring officials declared Marcus Tomlinson the feature winner over Tom Berry Jr. Andrew Bargmann finished a career best of third place ahead of Drew Christianson and Marlyn Seidler. The victory was Tomlinson’s first at Dacotah Speedway.

Join us Friday, June 14th for the Mandan Dirt Series presented by Knife River. 

Grandstands open at 6:00pm. Green flag waves at 7:00pm. 

For more information, visit us at www.dacotahspeedway.net or "LIKE" us on Facebook. You can also follow us on Twitter and Instagram. 

Can't make it to the track? Watch all the exciting Dacotah Speedway racing action LIVE and ON-DEMAND on www.dacotahspeedway.tv

Dacotah Speedway is a high banked, three-eights mile clay oval dirt track located at 2500 Longspur Trail, just south of Memorial Highway in Mandan. 

Return to News Section
Address: 2500 Longspur Trail Mandan ND 58554

Mailing Address: PO Box 6272 Bismarck, ND 58506

© Dacotah Speedway. All rights reserved.    site design & programming by Armor Interactive